Nicholas Angelich

Musician

Born in the United States in 1970, Nicholas Angelich gave his first concert at the age of 7. He was admitted to the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris at the age of 13 and studied with Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Béroff, Marie-Françoise Bucquet, Leon Fleischer, Dmitri Bashkirov and Maria João Pires. In Cleveland, he won the 2nd Prize of the Robert Casadesus international contest and the 1st Prize of the Gina Bachauer International contest. Under the sponsorship of Leon Fleischer, he received the Young talents’ Prize at the Klavierfestival Ruhr in Germany. At the 2013 Victoires de la musique classique he was awarded with the Instrumental soloist of the year prize.

This great performer of classic and romantic pieces gave a complete Des Années de Pèlerinage by Liszt. He is also interested to the music of the 20th century: Olivier Messiaen, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, Eric Tanguy, Pierre Henry, of which he played Concerto sans orchestra, and Baptiste Trotignon, of which he played the Different Spaces concerto. In May 2003, he started collaborating with the New York Philharmonic and Kurt Masur. Still under his conduction, but with the Orchestre national de France, he went on a tour to Japan. In 2007, Vladimir Jurowski invited him to open the season in Moscow with the Russian National Orchestra.

Nicholas Angelich has been playing with the most famous orchestras worldwide: Boston, Philadelphia, New York, London, Stockholm, Zurich, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Baden-Baden, Hong Kong, Rotterdam, Liège, Bruxelles and also with the Orchestre de Paris, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the Mahler Chamber Orchestra, the Théâtre Mariinsky Orchestra, under the conduction of Charles Dutoit, Vladimir Jurowski, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Tugan Sokhiev, Lionel Bringuier, Louis Langrée, Christian Zacharias, Michael Gielen, Marc Minkowski, Gianandrea Noseda, Paavo Järvi, Kurt Masur, Myung-Whun Chung, Daniel Harding, Sir Colin Davis, Jérémie Rhorer.

He has been playing worldwide, in recitals and chamber music, with partners such as Joshua Bell, Maxim Vengerov, Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Leonidas Kavakos, Julian Rachlin, Gérard Caussé, Antoine Tamestit, Paul Meyer, Pavel Haas, the Ebène, Ysaÿe and Prazak quartets.

His discography (Erato, Harmonia Mundi, Lyrinx) includes the major works by Bach, Beethoven, Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov and Ravel, the sonatas and chamber music by Brahms and Fauré (together with Renaud and Gautier Capuçon, Gérard Caussé and the Ebène quartet), the concertos by Brahms with the Orchestra of the Frankfurt radio conducted by Paavo Järvi.

In 1997, Nicholas Angelich created the Easter Festival of Deauville with Renaud Capuçon, François Salque, Jérôme Pernoo and Jérôme Ducros for future generations.

Nicholas Angelich

Musicien

Né aux Etats-Unis en 1970, Nicholas Angelich donne son premier concert à sept ans, entre à treize ans au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris et étudie avec Aldo Ciccolini, Yvonne Loriod, Michel Béroff, Marie-Françoise Bucquet, Leon Fleischer, Dmitri Bashkirov et Maria João Pires. Il  remporte à Cleveland le 2e prix du concours international Robert Casadesus et le 1er prix du concours international Gina Bachauer. Sous le parrainage de Leon Fleischer, il reçoit en Allemagne le prix des jeunes talents du Klavierfestival Ruhr. Aux Victoires de la musique classique 2013, il reçoit la victoire du « soliste instrumental de l’année. »

Grand interprète du répertoire classique et romantique, il donne l’intégrale des Années de Pèlerinage de Liszt. Il s’intéresse également à la musique du XXème siècle : Olivier Messiaen, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Pierre Boulez, Eric Tanguy, Pierre Henry dont il crée le Concerto sans orchestre et Baptiste Trotignon dont il crée le concerto Different Spaces. En mai 2003, il fait ses débuts avec le New York Philharmonic et Kurt Masur. Toujours sous sa direction, mais avec l’orchestre national de France, il effectue une tournée au Japon. Vladimir Jurowski l’invite en octobre 2007 à faire l’ouverture de la saison à Moscou avec l’orchestre national de Russie.

Nicholas Angelich s’est produit avec les plus fameux orchestres mondiaux : Boston, Philadelphie, New York, Londres, Stockholm, Zurich, Francfort, Stuttgart, Baden-Baden, Hong Kong, Rotterdam, Liège, Bruxelles et aussi avec l’orchestre de Paris, l’orchestre de chambre d’Europe, le Mahler Chamber Orchestra, le théâtre Mariinsky Orchestra sous la direction de chefs tels que Charles Dutoit, Vladimir Jurowski, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Tugan Sokhiev, Lionel Bringuier, Louis Langrée, Christian Zacharias, Michael Gielen, Marc Minkowski, Gianandrea Noseda, Paavo Järvi, Kurt Masur, Myung-Whun Chung, Daniel Harding, Sir Colin Davis, Jérémie Rhorer.

En récital et en musique de chambre il joue dans le monde entier avec des partenaires comme Joshua Bell, Maxim Vengerov, Renaud et Gautier Capuçon, Leonidas Kavakos, Julian Rachlin, Gérard Caussé, Antoine Tamestit, Paul Meyer, Pavel Haas, les quatuors Ebène, Ysaÿe et Prazak.

Sa discographie (Erato, Harmonia Mundi, Lyrinx) comprend des œuvres majeures de Bach, Beethoven, Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov et Ravel, les sonates et la musique de chambre de Brahms et de Fauré (avec Renaud et Gautier Capuçon, Gérard Caussé et le quatuor Ebène), les concertos de Brahms avec l’orchestre de la radio de Francfort dirigé par Paavo Järvi.

C’est en 1997 que Nicholas Angelich créa le festival de Pâques de Deauville avec Renaud Capuçon, François Salque, Jérôme Pernoo et Jérôme Ducros à l’intention des générations futures.