EUGENE BOUDIN

Painter

© Naïade Plante
© Musée des Beaux Arts de Caen
© Gilbert Hamel

Transcriber of the light of Deauville

Born on July 12th 1824 in Honfleur, Eugène Boudin, precursor of the Impressionism, spent his youth in Le Havre before spending each summer in Trouville-sur-Mer and Deauville from 1864 onwards. He depicted scenes of the seaside life, from the elegance of it to the ferment of markets, from sceneries of the Pays d’Auge to the ports. As a dedicated painter of skies, he conveyed through his canvases the ephemerality of light, the sudden changes in colours, the textures of the clouds and the inconstancy of the sea. In Deauville, Eugène Boudin was transported by the view of the Deauville beach from the jetties. He often sat there with his easel and painted the same view of the sea with the same framing, under different lights.

In 1884, Eugène Boudin built his house in Deauville: the "Les Ajoncs" villa - a small Dutch-style house  - recently renamed La Breloque, located at the 8 rue Olliffe - where he spent the last 14 years of his life. He died in this house on August 8th 1898.

Eugène Boudin painted over a hundred canvases and watercolour paintings in Deauville.

In 1998 a plaque was placed on the façade of his house. In August 2010, a plaque was also placed close to the Deauville marina dyke. It is a copy of the painting “La plage de Deauville” (1893) (Deauville’s beach), which belongs to the Beaux-Arts Museum in Caen.

EUGENE BOUDIN

Peintre

© Naïade Plante
© Musée des Beaux Arts de Caen
© Gilbert Hamel

Transcripteur de la lumière de Deauville

Né le 12 juillet 1824 à Honfleur, Eugène Boudin, précurseur de l’impressionnisme,  passe sa jeunesse au Havre puis séjourne à partir de 1864, tous les étés à Trouville-sur-Mer et Deauville. Il transcrit les scènes de la vie balnéaire, des élégantes à l’effervescence des marchés, des paysages augerons aux ports. Peintre des ciels, il s’attache dans ses toiles, à transcrire la fugacité de la lumière, les ciels changeants, la matière des nuages et l’inconstance de la mer.  A Deauville, Eugène Boudin  est séduit par la vue que l’on a de la plage de Deauville, depuis la jetée. Il s’y installe régulièrement avec son chevalet et décline cette même vue de la plage, avec le même cadrage  sous des lumières différentes.

En 1884, Eugène Boudin fait construire sa maison à Deauville, la Villa Les Ajoncs - une petite cage hollandaise  - aujourd’hui rebaptisée La Breloque, au 8 de la rue Olliffe - où il passera les quatorze dernières années de sa vie, C’est dans cette maison qu’il meurt le 8 août 1898.

Eugène Boudin a réalisé plus d’une centaine de toiles et de gouaches à Deauville.

Depuis 1998, une  plaque est apposée sur la façade de la maison où il vécut. En août 2010, une plaque a également été posée sur la digue de Port Deauville. Elle reproduit le tableau « La plage de Deauville » (1893), qui appartient au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen.