ROBERT CAPA

Photographer

© Robert Capa

Special envoy for the Holiday magazine

In 1951, Deauville was one of the most prized and popular destinations in France.

The seaside resort attracted an international clientele thanks to its casino, its glamorous parties, horse races, and bourgeois population fond of sea baths and animations on the "Planches" boardwalk. Celebrities mingled with families. Robert Capa, famous photo reporter who had covered the Ally Landing on the Normandy beaches six years earlier, arrived in August for a report ordered by the American magazine Holiday. With its vivid pop-art colors, the magazine was very appreciated by its readers, who considered it as a true ode to life. Holiday collaborated with some of the best photographers of our time reaching over a million readers.

For this report, Robert Capa was commissioned for the photos and the article. The text he wrote is joyful and light, undoubtedly exaggerated, but revealed his storytelling qualities. Independent from the leisure and distractions of the higher society in Deauville, he was fascinated by the social mix, which he described as “the rich and the poor playing side by side”. The report included a few hundred photographs which are now stored at the International Center of Photography of New York. Twenty three of them were exhibited in Deauville in 2011 on the Planches boardwalk between June and September.

In the evening, at the casino, the nightclubs and restaurants, only the rich, the parvenus, the desperate bourgeoisie, playboys, pinups, and professionals are found. In the afternoon, all these people gather again in the racecources, this time mixing with the locals, and almost the entire population of Trouville (…). The racecourse is the only true democracy...”

Robert Capa was born in 1913 in Budapest under the name of Endre Friedman. He settled in Paris in 1933 where he met other photographers: André Kertesz, David Seymour (nicknamed Chim) and Henri Cartier-Bresson. He covered five wars: the civil war in Spain (1936-1939), the Chinese resistance to the Japanese invasion (1938), the Second World War in Europe (1941-1945), the first Arab-Israeli war (1948) and the Indochina war (1954) where he died after stepping on a landmine on May 25th 1954, at the age of 40.

ROBERT CAPA

Photographe

© Robert Capa

Envoyé spécial de Holiday

En 1951, Deauville est l'une des destinations les plus en vue et les plus populaires de France.

La station balnéaire attire une clientèle internationale grâce à son casino, ses fêtes glamour et ses courses de chevaux, ainsi qu'une population bourgeoise friande de bains de mer et d'animations sur ses Planches. Les célébrités y côtoyaient les familles. Robert Capa, célèbre photojournaliste qui avait couvert le Débarquement allié sur les plages de Normandie six  ans auparavant, arrive au mois d'août pour un reportage destiné au magazine américain Holiday. Avec ses couleurs éblouissantes et très pop, ce magazine faisait rêver ses lecteurs qui le percevaient comme  un véritable hymne à la vie. Holiday a collaboré avec  quelques uns des meilleurs photographes de notre temps et a conquis par là-même, plus d’un million de lecteurs.

Pour ce reportage, Robert Capa est chargé de faire les photographies et de rédiger l’article. Le texte est joyeux, léger et sans doute exagéré, mais révélateur de ses qualités de conteur. Au-delà des loisirs et distractions de la haute société à Deauville, il s'est aussi intéressé au brassage social, à ce qu'il décrit comme “les riches et les pauvres jouant côte à côte”.  Le reportage comprend quelques centaines de clichés aujourd’hui archivées à l’International Center of Photography de New York. Vingt-trois ont été exposés à Deauville en 2011 sur les Planches entre juin et septembre.

Le soir au casino, dans les boîtes, les restaurants on ne voit que les riches, les parvenus, la bourgeoisie désespérée, les playboys, les pinups et les professionnels. L'après-midi au champ de courses, tout le monde est à nouveau là, cette fois avec les locaux, et presque toute la population de Trouville, (…) Le champ de courses c'est la démocratie, la vraie.”

Robert Capa est né en 1913 à Budapest, sous le nom d’Endre Friedmann. Il s’installe à  Paris en 1933 où il rencontre d’autres photographes : André Kertesz, David Seymour (surnommé Chim) et Henri Cartier-Bresson. Il a photographié cinq guerres : la guerre civile en Espagne (1936-1939), la résistance chinoise à l’invasion japonaise (1938), la seconde guerre mondiale en Europe  (1941-1945), la première guerre israélo-arabe (1948) et la guerre d’Indochine (1954) où il meurt après avoir posé le pied sur une mine le 25 mai 1954, à l’âge de 40 ans.