Renaud Capucon

Musician

Born in Chambéry in 1976, Renaud Capuçon has been studying at the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris with Gérard Poulet and Veda Reynolds, then with Thomas Brandis in Berlin and with Isaac Stern. In 1998, Claudio Abbado selected him as the konzertmeister of the Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester, an opportunity to refine his music education with Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa, Daniel Barenboim and Franz Welser-Möst. In 2000 he was appointed Rising Star and Nouveau talent de l’Année at the Victoires de la musique, then Soliste instrumental de l’année in 2005. In 2006, he received the Georges Enesco Prize by Sacem.

Renaud Capuçon has been collaborating with the most prestigious conductors and orchestras, such as the Berliner philharmoniker, the Orchestre de Paris, the Philadelphia orchestra, the Staatskapelle of Dresde, the Moscow Orchestra, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, the Gewandhaus Orchester, the Philharmonia Orchestra of London, the Orchestre national de France, the New York Philharmonic, the Symphonic and Philarmonic orchestras of Vienna with distinguished conductors such as Wolfgang Sowallisch, Kurt Masur, Christoph von Dhonanyi, Myung-Whun Chung, Daniel Harding, Vladimir Jurowski, Gustavo Dudamel, Charles Dutoit, Daniele Gatti; he has created the Concerto by Pascal Dusapin with the Orchestra of Cologne and performed a Brahms and Fauré cycle at the Musikverein of Vienna.

Partners of this passionate chamber musician are Martha Argerich, Nicholas Angelich, Maria Joao Pires, Frank Braley, Hélène Grimaud, Mischa Maisky, Mikhaïl Pletnev, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Gérard Caussé, Michel Dalberto and certainly his brother Gautier, joining him in various recordings. As a soloist, he performed the concertos by Beethoven, Brahms, Berg, Dutilleux, Saint-Saëns, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Bach under the conduction of Daniel Harding, Myung-Whun Chung, Louis Langrée, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Lionel Bringuier.

Renaud Capuçon plays a Guarnerius del Gesù known as “Panette” (1737), which belonged to Isaac Stern, and bought for him by the Banque Suisse Italienne (BSI). He was appointed Chevalier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite in June 2011. He is the founder and artistic director of the Easter Festival of Aix-en-Provence and the Festival Les Sommets Musicaux of Gstaad, as well as violin professor at the Haute école de musique of Lausanne.

Renaud Capucon

Musicien

Né à Chambéry en 1976, Renaud Capuçon étudie au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris avec Gérard Poulet et Veda Reynolds puis avec Thomas Brandis à Berlin et Isaac Stern. En 1998, Claudio Abbado le choisit comme konzertmeister du Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester ce qui lui permet de parfaire son éducation musicale avec Pierre Boulez, Seiji Ozawa, Daniel Barenboim et Franz Welser-Möst. En 2000 il est nommé « Rising Star » et « Nouveau talent de l’Année » aux Victoires de la musique puis « Soliste instrumental de l’année » en 2005. En 2006, le prix Georges Enesco lui est décerné par la Sacem.

Renaud Capuçon collabore avec les chefs et les orchestres les plus prestigieux comme le Berliner philharmoniker, l’orchestre de Paris, le Philadelphia orchestra, le Staatskapelle de Dresde, l’orchestre de Moscou, le Boston Symphony Orchestra, le Chicago Symphony Orchestra, le Gewandhaus Orchester, le Philharmonia Orchestra de Londres, l’orchestre national de France, le New York Philharmonic, les orchestres symphoniques et philharmoniques de Vienne avec des éminents chefs tels Wolfgang Sowallisch, Kurt Masur, Christoph von Dhonanyi, Myung-Whun Chung, Daniel Harding, Vladimir Jurowski, Gustavo Dudamel, Charles Dutoit, Daniele Gatti ; il a créé le concerto de Pascal Dusapin avec l’orchestre de Cologne et réalise un cycle Brahms et Fauré au Musikverein de Vienne.

Chambriste passionné, ses partenaires sont Martha Argerich, Nicholas Angelich, Maria Joao Pires, Frank Braley, Hélène Grimaud, Mischa Maisky, Mikhaïl Pletnev, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Gérard Caussé, Michel Dalberto et bien sûr son frère Gautier avec lequel il a gravé de nombreux enregistrements. Comme soliste, les concertos de Beethoven, Brahms, Berg, Dutilleux, Saint-Saëns, Schumann, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Bach figurent à son important catalogue sous la direction de Daniel Harding, Myung-Whun Chung, Louis Langrée, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Lionel Bringuier.

Renaud Capuçon joue le Guarnerius del Gesù « Panette » (1737) qui a appartenu à Isaac Stern, acheté pour lui par la Banque Suisse Italienne (BSI). Il est promu « Chevalier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite » en juin 2011. Il est le fondateur et directeur artistique du festival de Pâques d’Aix-en-Provence et du festival Les Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad, ainsi que professeur de violon à la haute école de musique de Lausanne.