COLETTE

Writer

Deauville : "A temperate Monte-Carlo"

From July 24th to September 2nd 1952, Colette has been living in Deauville for the first time, for a period of 5 weeks. She was suffering from hip osteoarthritis. Unable to walk, she used a wheelchair.

Hot temperatures were not recommended to her, so that summer she decided, with Maurice Goudeket, her husband, not to go on holiday to the South of France. They opted for Deauville, where Ilhamy Hussein Pacha, Pacha d’Egypte, had invited her, describing Deauville as "a temperate Monte-Carlo". In fact, Deauville had a casino situated close to the sea and a first-class hotel, reasons why they decided to leave their house, situated close to the Palais-Royal,...to stay in the Royal. She was accompanied by Maurice Goudeket and the devoted Pauline Tissandier, her female companion.

In Deauville, where their friends were spending so much time, they found much lower temperatures than they expected. Colette stayed longtime outside, when the sun was shining. In the evening, in the dining room of the Royal, she had dinner with a cover on her shoulders and, even in August, she never forgot to put a hot water bottle in her bed before going to sleep.

In a letter sent to Moune and to Toutounet, talking about the personnel of the Hotel Royal, she said:
“That summer, in the Royal Hotel of Deauville, the personnel was very considerate: they never forgot to put some flowers on my table.”

From Deauville, she wrote to her daughter, Bel Gazou, on July 23th:
“Maurice organized for me a short journey that the rain did not manage to ruin. The smell of the sea that I had forgotten touched our faces, passing through the large grasslands bordering the sea…”

That summer, Maurice Goudeket accompanied Colette, on her wheelchair, on the Boardwalk, bordering the beach. He took her to the cinema, or to see the events organized by the great hall of the Casino. “Many strangers stop me to have signatures and autographs", she said to Moune, "but Maurice keeps them politely away, as you already know."

Some days before leaving to reach Deauville, she wrote to Pierre Moréno, the son of her great friend Marguerite Moréno:
"I had a very bad week. Am I going to feel better in Deauville?
Don’t make fun of me, I’ve never seen Deauville before. Maybe this invitation will be an opportunity to relax for one month.
But for the moment I am very tired, - and I’m terribly suffering."

COLETTE

Ecrivain

Deauville : "un Monté-Carlo tempéré"

Du 24 juillet au 2 septembre1952, Colette effectue son premier séjour à Deauville, durant 5 semaines. Elle souffre d’une arthrose de la hanche. Ne pouvant marcher elle se déplace en fauteuil roulant.

La chaleur ne lui est pas recommandée et elle décide cette année-là, avec Maurice Goudeket, son mari, de ne pas retourner durant l'été dans le Midi. Leur choix se porte alors sur Deauville où Ilhamy Hussein Pacha, Pacha d’Egypte l’a invitée :"Un Monte-Carlo tempéré ". De fait, Deauville possède un autre casino en bord de mer et un hôtel de tout premier ordre, qui les convainc de passer du Palais-Royal ...au Royal. Elle est accompagnée de Maurice Goudeket et de la fidèle Pauline Tissandier sa dame de compagnie.

Dans ce Deauville, où ses amis passaient tant de temps, ils trouvent un climat nettement plus frais qu’ils ne l’avaient imaginé. Colette cherche le soleil et s'y attarde. Le soir dans la salle à manger du Royal, elle dîne avec une couverture sur les épaules et n'oublies pas, en plein mois d'août, de glisser une bouillotte dans son lit avant de s'endormir.

Dans une correspondance à Moune et au Toutounet, elle vante le personnel de l’Hotel Royal :
« Cet été-là, au Royal de Deauville, le personnel a été très prévenant: jamais ils n’ont oublié de fleurir ma table.»

Depuis Deauville, elle écrit à sa fille, Bel Gazou, le 23 juillet :
" Maurice m'avait organisé un petit voyage que la pluie n'a pas assombri. L'odeur de la mer que j'avais oubliée, passe pour venir nous toucher, par dessus de longues prairies qui la bordent..."

Cet été là, Maurice Goudeket promène Colette dans son fauteuil, sur les planches, le long de la plage. Il la conduit au cinéma, ou voir les attractions dans le grand hall du Casino. « Beaucoup d’inconnus demandent des signatures et autographes » dit-elle à Moune « Mais Maurice les tient poliment à distance, comme tu sais. »

Quelques jours avant de partir pour Deauville, elle écrit à Pierre Moréno, le fils de sa grande amie Marguerite Moréno :
"J'ai passé une mauvaise semaine ! Sera t'elle meilleure quand je goûterai Deauville ?
Ne vous moquez pas de moi je n'ai jamais vu Deauville. Il se trouve qu'une invitation peut m'y reposer un mois.
Mais pour l'instant je suis fourbue, - et je souffre bougrement."