ISADORA DUNCAN

Dancer

Isadora Duncan (1877- 1927), artist and passionate woman, upset the dance of the XX century and laid the foundations of modern dance. In barefoot and wearing a transparent tunic dress, she took off the typical picks and tutus of dance. She reconnected dance with nature and gave to it a freedom which was perfectly in line with the spirit of the time. Her life became a legend that lived for some months in Deauville in 1914.

As Sonia Schoonejans, dance historian, highlights: “for Isadora Duncan, dance was not just an aesthetic element, but a means to change life.” Her stay in Deauville from August to November 1914, apart from the anecdotal side, was for her an opportunity to start over. It was essential to get better after a profound sorrow and find the strength to establish new projects. Some months before, her two children, Deidre, 6 years-old, and Patrick, 3 years -old, drowned, trapped with their nurse, in the car dropped into the Seine river. Her third child, born in spring 1914, had just died too.

When Isadora Duncan arrived to the Normandy Hotel of Deauville, in August 1914, the war was just declared. In summer 1914, the hotel, from the promulgation of the general mobilization on August 1st, was hosting all prominent personalities who had decided to stay in Deauville, and other who had escaped from Paris. Isadora Duncan saw in the hotel halls the singer Marthe Chenal, the aviator Santos-Dumont, Robert de Montesquiou and Sacha Guitry. Later, she rented a furnished villa known as “Black and White”.

As she had some crises of extreme sadness, she called a doctor of Deauville. This man, very touched by her distress, expressed immediately his affection, then his passionate love that was an excellent consolation to her. Sometimes she went with him visiting patients by night to the Casino of Deauville, transformed at the time into a military hospital.

This new affection helped her to recover in a period in which “wounded and dying people” brought to Deauville gave to the city a strange atmosphere. But, too far away from her usual life, she left soon to New York to reach again her dance school.

More information:

Isadora Duncan, Ma Vie, (1927) Folio-Gallimard reprint(1987)

Isadora Duncan  la danse de l’avenir Complexe edition(2003)

ISADORA DUNCAN

Danseuse

Isadora Duncan (1877- 1927), artiste et femme passionnée  a  bouleversé la danse du XXe siècle et posé les bases de la danse moderne. Pieds nus et en tunique transparente, elle l’a dépouillé de ses pointes et des ses tutus. Elle a remis la danse en phase avec la nature et lui a donné une liberté qui collait avec l’esprit de son époque. Sa vie est devenue une légende, qui en 1914 fait une étape de quelques mois à Deauville.

Comme le souligne Sonia Schoonejans, historienne de la danse, « pour Isadora Duncan, la danse n’était pas un simple fait esthétique mais un moyen de changer la vie ». Le séjour qu’elle effectua à Deauville entre août et novembre 1914, au-delà de l’anecdotique, lui permit de se reconstruire. Il fut essentiel pour se remettre d’un immense chagrin et retrouver l’énergie propice à de nouveaux projets. Quelques mois auparavant, ses deux enfants, Deidre, 6 ans, et Patrick, 3 ans,  sont morts noyés, enfermés avec leur nurse, dans la voiture qui a glissé dans la Seine. Un troisième enfant, né au printemps 1914 vient à son tour de décéder.

Lorsqu’Isadora Duncan arrive en août 1914 au Normandy à Deauville, la guerre vient d’être déclarée. Durant cet été 1914, l’hôtel, depuis que l’ordre de mobilisation générale a été promulgué le 1er août, héberge les personnalités qui ont décidés de rester sur place, et d’autres qui fuient Paris. Isadora Duncan croise dans les halls, la cantatrice Marthe Chenal, l’aviateur Santos-Dumont, Robert de Montesquiou et Sacha Guitry. Elle louera ensuite une villa meublée du nom de Black and White.

En proie à de longues crises de langueur, elle appelle à son chevet un médecin de Deauville. Celui-ci, très ému par sa détresse, ne tarde pas à lui exprimer son affection, puis un amour passionné, qui sera un excellent réconfort pour elle. Elle l’accompagne, parfois, dans ses visites de nuit au Casino de Deauville alors transformé en hôpital militaire.

L’affection retrouvée l’aide à se reconstruire dans une période où l’arrivée régulière « de blessés  et de mourants » donnent à Deauville une étrange atmosphère. Mais trop loin de sa vie, elle repart rapidement à New York rejoindre son école de danse.

Pour en savoir plus :

Isadora Duncan, Ma Vie, (1927) réédition Folio-Gallimard (1987)

Isadora Duncan  la danse de l’avenir éditions Complexe (2003)