Joakim Eskildsen

Photographer

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2016

Joakim Eskildsen, born in 1971 in Copenhagen, lives and works in Berlin.
Graduated from a Master’s degree in photography at the University of Arts and Design of Helsinki, he regularly works in collaboration with his wife, the writer and poet Cia Rinne. During the 1990s, they created their first collaborative projects: Nordic Signs (1995), a collection of photographs taken in Northern Europe that constitutes an hymn to nature; Bluetide (1997), the story of Apulia, a Portuguese fishing town touched by maritime erosion; and iChikenMoon (1999), which won the Best foreign title Prize in 2000 at the Phoyo-Eye books & Prints annual Awards.
Joakim Eskildsen has later produced two further series: American Realities in 2011 and Cuba in 2013. The former is focused on the financial crisis and the bad effects on citizens; the latter retraces the Cuban architectural evolution concerning the urban areas, especially La Havane.
Dealing with sociological or even political issues through portraits, scenes of everyday life or even landscapes, his mastering of colours manages to give his stories a special aura, fluctuating between revolution, hope and anxiety.

In Deauville for the Planche(s) Contact Festival

Joakim Eskildsen, working between social and road photography, has walked down the streets of La Havane and the districts of the major American cities with the highest rates of outsiders. His shots transmitted the details of these areas through powerful and touching images, supported by rigorous framings and twilight colours. Joakim Eskildsen will roam around the city of Deauville, which he does not know yet, to capture new dimensions.

Joakim Eskildsen

Photographe

Invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

Joakim Eskildsen, né en 1971 à Copenhague, vit et travaille à Berlin.
Diplômé d’un master en photographie de l’université d’Art et de Design d’Helsinki, il travaille régulièrement en collaboration avec son épouse, l’écrivaine et poétesse Cia Rinne. Au cours des années 1990, ils réalisent ensemble leurs premiers projets : Nordic Signs (1995), un hymne à la nature à travers un recueil de photographies prises en Europe du Nord; Bluetide (1997), récit du drame d’Apulia, village de pêcheurs portugais touché par l’érosion maritime; et iChikenMoon (1999) dont l’ouvrage a obtenu le prix du meilleur titre étranger en 2000 dans le Photo-Eye books & Prints annual Awards.
Joakim Eskildsen produit par la suite deux nouvelles séries : American Realities en 2011 et Cuba en 2013. La première s’intéresse à l’état de crise financière et à ses conséquences néfastes sur les habitants ; la seconde retrace l’évolution architecturale cubaine en milieu urbain, et particulièrement à La Havane.
Traitant de sujets sociologiques voire politiques à travers des portraits, des scènes de vie ou même des  paysages, sa maîtrise de la couleur confère à ses récits une force particulière, entre révolution, espoir et anxiété.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Entre photographie sociale et road photography, Joakim Eskildsen a arpenté les rues de La Havane et les quartiers des grandes villes américaines qui concentrent le plus fort taux d’exclus. Son regard en a restitué les nuances, dans des  images fortes, chargées d’émotions, et soutenues par des cadrages rigoureux et des couleurs crépusculaires. A Deauville qu’il ne connaît pas encore, Joakim Eskildsen va arpenter la ville pour en saisir d’autres réalités.