Maïa Flore

Photographer

© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2016

Maïa Flore was born in France in 1988.
Member of the Agence VU, a photography agency, she is represented by the Galerie Esther Woerdehoff.
Her current works are exhibited in France (Musée de la photographie de Lille, Arsenal de Metz, Paris Photo, Châlon sur Saône...) and abroad (San Francisco, New York, Philadelphia, Portland, Milan, Rome, Amsterdam...), during personal and collective exhibitions. In 2015, she was laureate of the Prix HSBC pour la Photographie.
Her images appeared in the French press (Le Monde, Libération, le Figaro, Photos Nouvelles...) and in the international press (The New Yorker, PDN, La Repubblica, Kinfolk...). Maia also fulfils some orders of the press (Le Monde, Sport & Style, M le Monde, Kinfolk...) and cultural institutions (Institut Français, Centre de Danse in Lille, FIPA), and works as artistic director for Ouur Media.
Her first monograph was published by Actes Sud in July 2015.

In Deauville, for the Planche(s) Contact Festival

Maïa Flore, a young talent revealed by the HSBC 2015 Prize, creates personal narrations, surrounded by dreamlike landscapes and decorations aged by time.
In her compositions, pale bodies and refined shapes, animated by a surrealist weightlessness, link internal worlds and external landscapes. The body blends with reality and becomes a thin membrane that cannot contain our dreams and thoughts. Maia Flore reveals a new dimension of Deauville, seen as an intriguing and inspiring city. Deauville, with its soft lights, become a dream land, and hosts an entirely personal poetry.

Maïa Flore

Photographe

© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Maïa Flore Agence VU pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Invitée au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

Maïa Flore est née en 1988, en France.
Membre de l’Agence VU, elle est représentée par la Galerie Esther Woerdehoff.
L’actualité de ses expositions se déroule en France (Musée de la photographie de Lille, Arsenal de Metz, Paris Photo, Châlon sur Saône,...) et à l’étranger (San Francisco, New York, Philadelphie, Portland, Milan, Rome, Amsterdam...), lors d’expositions personnelles et collectives. En 2015, elle est lauréate du Prix HSBC pour la Photographie.
Ses images ont été publiées dans la presse française (Le Monde, Libération, le Figaro, Photos Nouvelles,...) tout comme à l’international (The New Yorker, PDN, La Repubblica, Kinfolk, ...). Maia travaille également en commande pour la presse (Le Monde, Sport & Style, M le Monde, Kinfolk, ...) et les institutions culturelles (Institut Français, Centre de Danse à Lille, FIPA), ainsi que comme directrice artistique pour Ouur Media.
Sa première monographie est publiée chez Actes Sud en Juillet 2015.

À Deauville, dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Jeune talent révélé par le prix HSBC 2015, Maïa Flore conçoit des narrations personnelles, mises en scène dans des paysages oniriques et des décors patinés par le temps.
Dans ses compositions, les corps pâles, les silhouettes épurées, animés d’une apesanteur surréaliste, apparaissent comme le trait d’union entre mondes intérieurs et paysages extérieurs.  Le corps y perd pied avec le réel et devient une fine membrane de laquelle débordent nos rêves et pensées.  Maia Flore révèle un Deauville renouvelé, intriguant, et inspirant. Deauville aux lumières douces, devenu pays des songes, se fait terrain de jeu d’une poésie toute personnelle.