Perceval Gilles

Musician

Born in 1987 from a family of musicians, Perceval Gilles began to study music at the age of 6 at the Conservatoire of Montpellier, where he obtained his violin and chamber music certificates in 2003.

At the age of 16, he was admitted to the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris and studied under Olivier Charlier and Joanna Matkowska. In May 2008, he obtained his higher education certificate with distinction as well as Prize Françoise Doreau, rewarding his interpretation of Sequenza for violin by Luciano Berio.

Willing to acquire an as full and extensive music education as possible, he decided to study music writing and orchestra conduction as well as chamber music under Alain Meunier, David Walter, Itamar Golan, Marc Coppey and Vladimir Mendelssohn.

In 2007, he created the Atanassov trio with cellist Sarah Sultan and pianist Pierre-Kaloyann Atanassov. In 2015 he formed a string quartet with Amaury Coeytaux, Léa Hennino and Victor Julien-Laferrière.

Since then, the trio has been rewarded by several prizes, the most relevant being undoubtedly the 1st Prize at the Schumann International chamber music contest in Frankfurt, a Diapason d’or for Dvořák-Smetana album, the 3rd Prize at the Osaka International chamber music contest and at the Joseph Haydn International Contest of Vienna.

Perceval Gilles regularly performs in concert halls or during Festivals: the Wigmore Hall of London, the Konzerthaus of Vienna, the Folles Journées, the Cortot hall, the Cité de la Musique, the Alte Oper of Frankfurt, the Schloss Esterhazy of Eisenstadt, the Philharmony of Sofia.

Perceval Gilles plays a violin made in 1875 by Georges Cunault. He could acquire this instrument through the Fondation Meyer.

Perceval Gilles

Musicien

Né en 1987 dans une famille de musiciens, Perceval Gilles commence ses études musicales à l’âge de six ans au conservatoire de Montpellier où il obtient ses diplômes de violon et de musique de chambre en 2003.

Il est admis à seize ans au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris dans la classe d’Olivier Charlier et Joanna Matkowska. Il y obtient en mai 2008 son diplôme de formation supérieure avec la mention très bien ainsi que le prix Françoise Doreau, récompensant son interprétation de la Sequenza pour violon de Luciano Berio.

Désireux d’acquérir une formation musicale aussi large et complète que possible, il étudie l’écriture musicale et la direction d’orchestre, ainsi que la musique de chambre auprès d’Alain Meunier, David Walter, Itamar Golan, Marc Coppey et Vladimir Mendelssohn.

En 2007, il fonde le trio Atanassov avec Sarah Sultan au violoncelle et Pierre-Kaloyann Atanassov au piano. En 2015 il forme un quatuor à cordes avec Amaury Coeytaux, Léa Hennino et Victor Julien-Laferrière.

Depuis, le trio a été récompensé par de nombreux prix dont les plus significatifs sont sans doute le 1er prix du concours international de musique de chambre Schumann à Francfort, un Diapason d’or pour le disque Dvořák-Smetana, un 3e prix au concours international de musique de chambre d’Osaka ainsi qu’au concours international Joseph Haydn de Vienne.

Perceval Gilles se produit régulièrement dans des salles ou des festivals réputés tels le Wigmore Hall de Londres, le Konzerthaus de Vienne, les Folles Journées, la salle Cortot, la Cité de la Musique, l’Alte Oper de Francfort, le Schloss Esterhazy d'Eisenstadt, la philharmonie de Sofia.

Perceval Gilles joue sur un violon fait en 1875 par Georges Cunault. L'acquisition de cet instrument a été rendue possible grâce à la fondation Meyer.