Brian GRIFFIN

Photographer

© Brian Griffin
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Invited to the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2015

In Deauville, Brian Griffin, influenced by the imagery of the expressionist cinema, met the Conseil des Sages, composed of twenty Deauville personalities that are have been heavily involved in the local public life. He made an original series of 20 portraits, recognizable by the strength of the framing, a sense of role-playing and a singular mastering of artificial light.

Internationally known for his black-and-white portraits captured in confined spaces or natural settings, Brian Griffin has been discovered in France, Arles, in 1987. He has started conceiving the photos of record covers for Iggy Pop, Ian Durry, Joe Jackson, Dépêche Mode, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds or Ringo Star, before focusing on a significant advertising, inventive and audacious creation.

Brian Griffin has been exhibiting between 1984 and 2014 in Tokyo, Hamburg, Houston, Cologne, Amsterdam, Prague, Barcelona, Milan, Gand, Stockholm, Anvers, Montreal, etc. In 2004, he was the author and director of a documentary commissioned by and about Paul McCartney. In 2009, Les Rencontres d'Arles dedicated a great exhibition to him. Brian Griffin received an important photographic order from the J.O of London in 2009 and he was the only photographer receiving a photographic order from Marseille in 2013, where he made a remarkable set of portraits of dockers. The National Portrait Gallery of London carried out a great retrospective about him in 2010.

The photos made by Brian Griffin are included in the public collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum and in the Museums of Edinburgh, Essen, Birmingham, Reykjavik and Braga. Brian Griffin has published about fifteen works and collections about his photography: some very nice book-works that have currently become much demanded and high-rated books about photography.

Brian Griffin is associated professor at the University of Bologna and has been Docteur honoris Causa of the Université de Birmingham since 2014.

Brian GRIFFIN

Photographe

© Brian Griffin
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

Invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2015

Deauville, Brian Griffin, influencé par l'imagerie du cinéma expressionniste, ira à la rencontre du Conseil des Sages, composé de vingt personnalités Deauvillaises qui se sont beaucoup investies dans la vie publique locale. Il réalisera une série originale de 20 portraits, reconnaissables par la force de ses cadrages, son sens de la mise en situation et sa maitrise si singulière de la lumière artificielle.

Mondialement connu pour ses portraits en noir et blanc mis en scène dans des espaces clos ou des décors naturels, Brian Griffin a été découvert en France, à Arles, en 1987. Il a commencé par imaginer les photos des pochettes de disques d'Iggy Pop, d'Ian Durry, Joe Jackson, Dépêche Mode, Peter Gabriel, Simple Minds ou encore Ringo Star, avant de se consacrer à une importante création publicitaire, inventive et audacieuse.

Brian Griffin a exposé entre 1984 et 2014 à Tokyo, Hambourg, Houston, Cologne, Amsterdam, Prague, Barcelone, Milan, Gand, Stockholm, Anvers, Montréal, etc.. Il est l'auteur et le réalisateur en 2004 d'un documentaire commandé par et sur Paul McCartney. En 2009, les Rencontres d'Arles lui ont consacré une grande exposition. Brian Griffin a reçu une importante commande photographique des J.O de Londres (2009) et a été invité pour la seule commande photographique de Marseille 2013, où il a réalisé une série remarquable de portraits de dockers. The National Portrait Gallery de Londres lui a consacré une grande rétrospective en 2010.

Les photos de Brian Griffin sont présentes dans les collections publiques du Victoria and Albert Museum et dans les musées d'Edimbourg, d'Essen, de Birmingham, de Reykjavik et de Braga. Brian Griffin a publié une quinzaine d'ouvrages et de recueils de ses photographies, de très beaux livres objets, aujourd'hui devenus des livres de photographies très recherchés et très côtés.

Brian Griffin est professeur associé à l'Université de Bologne et Docteur honoris Causa de l'Université de Birmingham depuis 2014.