ANDRÉ HAMBOURG

Painter

© Claudine Vazeille
© André Hambourg - collection Ville de Deauville
© André Hambourg - collection Ville de Deauville

A painter loving Normandy

Author of a remarkable production, corresponding to about 12,000 works, André Hambourg, who was also Paintre de la Marine, lithographer, drawer and war reporter, has developed a figurative art that found several inspiration sources along the Côte Fleurie. André Hambourg lived in the XX century. Born in 1909 in Paris, he started painting the roads of his youth. When he was still very young, he travelled a lot and brought from these trips several preparatory drawings, after his studies at the Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts. He has been participating very soon to several fairs, before winning the Abd-el-tif prize in 1933, getting his first trip in Algeria, where he lived until the war started.
He was appointed war correspondent in January 1945, then Peintre officiel de la Marine in 1952, a period in which his favourite subjects were the Norman coast and Saint-Rémy-de-Provence. These trips made him discover his love for light, leading to a more personal and bright technique, with the exception of the sketches made during the War. At the end of the 1940s, he started to be interested in representing the others in quite a messy agitation whose unit could only be reproduced by the painter.
Among 1947 and 1948, André Hambourg had the opportunity, even before his official nomination as Peintre de la Marine, to board on the Richelieu and to cross the Mediterranean Sea. He also was on board the De Grasse in 1963 and the Colbert in 1966 in the Eastern Mediterranean. Two campaigns on board the helicopter carrier Jeanne d’Arc and the Commandant Bourdais-class frigate in 1983-84, and then in 1985-86, allowed him to take a trip around the world. Finally, to celebrate the centenary of the Liberty Statue in 1986, the Jeanne and the Boudais crossed the Atlantic to participate to the New-York celebrations, also hosting on board André Hambourg.
 
ANDRE HAMBOURG AND DEAUVILLE
From 1982, the painter has been renting cabin n.181 on the Boardwalk of Deauville, where he could observe and paint the popular Deauville “away from the worldly bustle, in a quiet place”. Actually, since his first stay in 1949, André HAMBOURG has loved setting down on the beach or on the dyke to paint the light of Deauville or Trouville. In 1965, he has also organized a special exhibition about Deauville at the Wally Findlay Gallery in New York.
 
SOME DATES
1937: First stay in Honfleur.
 
1947: Stay in Honfleur, then in Saint Rémy de Provence, where he saved the olive tree fields painted by Van Gogh. First sea mission aboard the Richelieu, with the help of Bizette-Lindet.
 
1976: Normandy, creation of 5 mosaics for three schools of Deauville and Trouville.
 
1979: Inauguration of the Hambourg hall at the Trouville museum, after a donation made by the artist.
 
1988: Inauguration of the floor hosting the Hambourg – Rachet donation at the Eugène Boudin museum in Honfleur
 
2009: For the 10th anniversary of his death, Philippe Augier, Mayor of Deauville revealed a plaque made in tribute to the painter, situated on the cabin n.181, called "Cabine André Hambourg".
 
2011: Wanting to ensure the preservation, longevity and valorization of the works of her husband, Nicole Hambourg bequeathed to the City of Deauville 538 oil paintings made by him, painted between 1925 and 1999. After receiving this donation, the City of Deauville committed to open in Deauville a museum to preserve and permanently or temporarily exhibit these works. The André Hambourg Museum will be placed at the Franciscaines site, a future friendly and cultural place, whose opening is scheduled for 2019.
 
2012: A first exhibition, including about one hundred works, is organized at the International Centre of Deauville.

ANDRÉ HAMBOURG

Peintre

© Claudine Vazeille
© André Hambourg - collection Ville de Deauville
© André Hambourg - collection Ville de Deauville

Un peintre amoureux de la Normandie

Auteur d’une production considérable estimée à environ 12000 œuvres, le peintre de la marine, lithographe, dessinateur et correspondant de guerre André Hambourg a développé un art figuratif qui a trouvé de nombreuses sources d’inspiration le long de la Côte Fleurie. La vie d’André Hambourg semble se confondre avec le XXe siècle. Né en 1909 à Paris, il en peint les rues dès sa jeunesse. Très jeune, il voyage beaucoup et rapporte de ses séjours de nombreux dessins préparatoires à la suite de ses études à l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts. Il participe très tôt à divers Salons, avant de remporter le prix Abd-el-tif en 1933 qui lui offre son premier séjour en Algérie où il demeure jusqu’aux années de guerre.
Il est nommé correspondant de guerre en janvier 1945, puis peintre officiel de la Marine en 1952, époque durant laquelle il partage sa vie entre ses sujets favoris : la côte normande et Saint-Rémy-de-Provence. Ces séjours lui ont apporté le goût de la lumière qui lui donna un dessin plus personnel, plus vif, à moins que cela ne soit la pratique du croquis pendant la Guerre. Dès la fin des années 40, il éprouve le désir de représenter les autres dans une agitation un peu désordonnée dont seul le peintre sait restituer l'unité.
André Hambourg dès 1947 et 1948 a l’opportunité, avant même sa nomination officielle comme peintre de la Marine d’embarquer sur le Richelieu et de sillonner la Méditerranée. Il travailla également à bord du De Grasse en 1963 et du Colbert en 1966 en Méditerranée orientale. Deux campagnes à bord du porte-hélicoptères Jeanne d’Arc et de sa conserve le Commandant Bourdais en 1983-84 puis 1985-86 lui permirent de faire le tour du monde. Enfin, pour fêter le centenaire de la statue de la Liberté en 1986, la Jeanne et le Boudais traversèrent l’Atlantique pour participer aux célébrations à New-York, avec André Hambourg à leur bord.
 
ANDRE HAMBOURG ET DEAUVILLE
Dès 1982 le peintre loua la cabine 181 sur les planches de Deauville, dans laquelle il est venu observer et peindre le Deauville populaire « à l’écart de l’agitation mondaine, dans un endroit tranquille ». En effet, depuis son premier séjour en 1949, André HAMBOURG aimait s’installer sur le sable ou sur la digue pour peindre la Lumière de Deauville ou de Trouville. En 1965, il organisa même une exposition particulière Deauville à la galerie Wally Findlay à New York.
 
QUELQUES DATES
1937 : Premier séjour à Honfleur.
 
1947 : Séjour à Honfleur puis à Saint Rémy de Provence, où il sauve le champs d’oliviers peint par Van Gogh. Première mission en mer à bord du Richelieu
grâce à Bizette-Lindet.
 
1976 : Normandie, création de 5 mosaïques pour trois établissements scolaires de Deauville et de Trouville.
 
1979 : Inauguration de la salle Hambourg au musée de Trouville suite à une donation de l’artiste.
 
1988 : Inauguration au musée Eugène Boudin à Honfleur de l’étage consacré à la donation Hambourg – Rachet
 
2009 : A l'occasion du 10e anniversaire de sa disparition, Philippe Augier, Maire de Deauville dévoile une plaque en hommage au peintre sur la cabine 181, devenue "Cabine André Hambourg".
 
2011 : Souhaitant assurer la conservation, la pérennité et la mise en valeur des œuvres de son mari, Nicole Hambourg lègue à la Ville de Deauville 538 huiles sur toile de son époux, peintes entre 1925 et 1999. En recevant cette donation, la Ville de Deauville s’est engagée à ouvrir à Deauville un lieu muséographique de conservation et d’exposition permanente et temporaire des œuvres.Le Musée André Hambourg s'installera au sein des Franciscaines, futur lieu de convivialité et de culture, dont l'ouverture est prévue en 2019.
 
2012 : Une première exposition est organisée au Centre International de Deauville avec une centaine d'oeuvres.