Françoise Huguier

Photographer

©Françoise HUGUIER
©Françoise HUGUIER

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2017

FRANÇOISE HUGUIER crossed Africa from the East to the West, on the footsteps of Michel Leiris in 1988. In 1992, she discovered Seydou Keita and Malick Sidibé, Malian photographers, and created in 1994 the first Biennale de la photographie africaine (Biennal of African photography) in Bamako.
During a 25-year-long experience in fashion, backstage and workshops, she could publish her work, since 1983, in Libération, then Vogue, The New York Times magazine, ID Women’s wear, Marie Claire
From 2001 to 2007, she has been photographing the collective flats of Saint Petersburg, and published a book titled Kommunalki with Actes Sud in 2008. On the same year, a film titled Kommunalka (Les films d’Ici production) was presented in Cannes in a closed session and a homonymous exhibition was organized at the Rencontres d’Arles.
In 2014, the Maison européenne de la photographie dedicated to him a monographic exhibition titled Pince moi je rêve. She published her autobiography titled Au doigt et à l’œil – Portrait d’une photographe and released by Sabine Wespieser Editeur on the same year.

Françoise Huguier

Photographe

©Françoise HUGUIER
©Françoise HUGUIER

Invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

Françoise Huguier traverse l’Afrique d’Est en Ouest sur les traces de Michel Leiris en 1988. En 1992, elle découvre les photographes maliens Seydou Keita et Malick Sidibé et crée en 1994 la première Biennale de la photographie africaine à Bamako.
L’aventure de la mode, backstage et dans les ateliers pendant 25 ans, lui vaut des parutions dès 1983 dans Libération, puis Vogue, The New York Times magazine, ID Women’s wear, Marie Claire…
De 2001 à 2007, elle photographie les appartements communautaires à Saint-Pétersbourg. Un livre sur ce travail intitulé Kommunalki sort chez Actes Sud en 2008. Puis un film en huis clos : Kommunalka (production Les films d’Ici, présenté à Cannes en 2008) et une exposition homonyme aux Rencontres d’Arles en cette même année.
En 2014 une exposition monographique lui est consacrée à la Maison européenne de la photographie, Pince moi je rêve. Elle publie la même année son autobiographie : Au doigt et à l’œil – Portrait d’une photographe – Sabine Wespieser Editeur.