Jean-Pierre Kerloch

Invited to the Books & Music Festival 2017

Jean-Pierre Kerloc'h, of Breton origin and still attached to his roots, has chosen to live in the Aude, both in Carcassonne, not far away from the famous Middle-Age City and in his Maison des Corbières, his heaven of peace, surrounded by pines and vineyards. Qualified teacher of Modern Letters, he has been professor at the École Normale de Carcassonne, then at the IUFM of Montpellier.
He has organized several writing workshops, meetings, lectures, summer schools, both for children and adults, librarians, French teachers (especially in Réunion, Germany, Morocco, Bulgaria, Hungary, Ivory Coast, Peru…).
He has published about sixty works. Writing remains for him, first of all, an entertainment and a challenge. Each project becomes an exercise in style. So it is not surprising that he passed from poetical writing to humoristic album, from tales to novels, from school manuals to pedagogic essays or cooking books. But his great love remains writing, rewriting or creating tale variations.
His works have been translated into different languages such as Japanese, English, Dutch, Greek, German, Indonesian, Italian, Chinese, etc.

Jean-Pierre Kerloch

Invité au Festival Livres & Musiques 2017

D'origine bretonne et demeurant attaché à ses racines, Jean-Pierre Kerloc'h a choisi de rester vivre dans l’Aude. Tantôt à Carcassonne, non loin de la célèbre Cité médiévale, tantôt dans sa maison des Corbières, son havre de silence, au milieu des pins et des vignes. Agrégé de Lettres modernes, il a été professeur à l’École Normale de Carcassonne, puis à l’IUFM de Montpellier.
Il a animé de nombreux ateliers d’écriture, rencontres, conférences, universités d’été, destinés tant aux enfants qu’au grand public, aux bibliothécaires, aux enseignants de français (notamment à La Réunion, Allemagne, Maroc, Bulgarie, Hongrie, Côte d’Ivoire, Pérou…).
Il a publié quelques soixante-dix ouvrages. L'écrire reste pour lui, avant tout, un amusement et un défi. Chaque projet devient un exercice de style. Il ne faut donc pas s'étonner de l’avoir vu passer de l'écriture poétique à l'album humoristique, de la nouvelle au roman, du manuel scolaire à l'essai pédagogique ou au livre de cuisine. Mais son grand plaisir reste l'écriture, la réécriture ou le détournement des contes.
Il a été traduit dans des langues aussi diverses que le japonais, l'anglais, le néerlandais, le grec, l'allemand, l’indonésien, le coréen, l'italien, le chinois...