Peter Knapp

Photographer

© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2016

Peter Knapp, graduated from the Decorative arts of Zurich, settled in France in the 1950s and became the artistic director of several magazines, from the Nouveau Fémina to the Galeries Lafayette. In 1959, he took over the artistic direction of Elle. From this moment on, his photographic works were mainly focused on fashion, and he collaborated with André Courrèges and Emmanuel Ungaro. Peter Knapp, through his accuracy and master of design and photography, subverted and renewed the fashion photography in France: lines and shapes started to become essential. A refined image is the basics of a method that gives less importance to the traditional perspective and more to an delicate geometry.

In Deauville for the Planche(s) Contact Festival

In this first retrospective presented by the Planche(s) Contact Festival, these images captured in the 1970s and 1980s reflect the long and rich collaboration between Deauville and the photography of Peter Knapp.
In the relationship existing between Peter Knapp and Deauville, reference is frequently made to photographic orders. The Boardwalk and the seafront of Deauville are the perfect setting to capture photos for the Courrèges fashion house and for Elle or Stern magazines.
At the end of the 1970s, while focusing on his fashion images, Peter Knapp made some artworks such as the "recomposed compounds" or blue monochrome series, whose only pattern was the sky. Working in Deauville represents for him an opportunity to deepen his researches, subtle games between signs and geometry, and to play with images to create new imaginary landscapes.

Deauville by Peter Knapp is an exhibition created in collaboration with François Cheval and Audrey Hoarea for Planche(s) Contact 2016.
The exhibition is supported by Olympus.

Peter Knapp

Photographe

© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Peter Knapp, Rétrospective, Planche(s) Contact 2016

Invité au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

Après une formation aux Arts Décoratifs de Zurich, Peter Knapp assure à son arrivée en France diverses directions artistiques de magazines dans les années 1950, au Nouveau Fémina ou pour les Galeries Lafayette. En 1959, il prend la direction artistique de "Elle". À partir de cette date, ses travaux photographiques s’orientent vers la mode, aux côtés d'André Courrèges et d'Emmanuel Ungaro. Par sa rigueur, sa maîtrise de la mise en page et de la photographie, Peter Knapp révolutionne et renouvelle la photographie de mode en France : lignes et formes deviennent primordiales. Une image épurée, base d’une méthode qui réduit l’importance traditionnelle de la perspective au profit d’une géométrie sensible.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Première rétrospective présentée par le festival Planche(s) Contact, ces images réalisées dans les années 1970-80 témoignent de la longue et riche adéquation entre Deauville et la photographie de Peter Knapp.
Dans la relation que Peter Knapp entretient avec Deauville, il est souvent question de commandes. Que ce soit pour la maison Courrèges ou pour les magazines Elle ou Stern, les planches de Deauville et le front de mer ont fourni un décor idéal.
Simultanément à ses images de mode, Peter Knapp réalise à  la fin des années 1970 des travaux plastiques, la série des "composés-recomposés" ou des monochromes bleus, qui n'ont pour motif que le ciel. Travailler à Deauville lui a permis d'affiner ses recherches, des jeux  subtils entre indices et géométries, et de jouer avec ses images pour constituer de nouveaux paysages fictifs.

Bleus, entre l’Ecume et les Cieux, est une exposition créée en collaboration avec François Cheval et Audrey Hoareau (Musée Nicéphore Niepce/Association The Red Eye) pour Planche(s) Contact 2016.
L’exposition est présentée avec le soutien d’Olympus.