Laurence Leblanc

Photographer

© Laurence Leblanc pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Laurence Leblanc pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2016

Laurence Leblanc, born in 1967 in Paris, started her artistic career at a young age, attending drawing and painting lessons at the Martenot school, and a course on engraving art at the Arts décoratifs du Louvre. Laureate in 2000 at the Villa Médicis Hors-Les-Murs for her Cambodian project, she was awarded with several prizes, including the Prix HSBC pour la Photographie in 2003. In the same year, she published Rithy, Chéa, Kim Sour et les autres, then Seul l’air (2009), both published by Actes Sud. Her work was exhibited at the 40ème Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d’Arles.
The photos of Laurence Leblanc are acquired by private collectors, the Fonds National d’Art Contemporain and the Nicéphore Niepce Museum.
Laurence Leblanc was laureate of the Nicéphore Niepce Prize in 2016.
Video (with the film titled Bulles de silence) and sound (with a workshop of radio creation broadcasted on France Culture) have also been some of her research fields for several years now.

In Deauville for the Planche(s) Contact Festival

Laurence Leblanc, an artist with an educational background in plastic arts, pays particular attention to the matter and the medium when taking pictures. With her, the creation act is obtained combining the subject with his/her environment.
Laurence Leblanc is hosted in residence for the 7th edition of the Planche(s) Contact Festival and captures a series of pictures that are sensitive and attentive to the space arranged between humans and things.

Laurence Leblanc

Photographe

© Laurence Leblanc pour Planche(s) Contact 2016
© Laurence Leblanc pour Planche(s) Contact 2016

Invitée au Festival Planche(s) Contact en 2016

Laurence Leblanc, née en 1967 à Paris, commence très jeune son parcours artistique en suivant des cours de dessin et de peinture à l’école Martenot, ainsi qu'une formation à la gravure aux Arts décoratifs du Louvre. Lauréate en 2000 de la Villa Médicis Hors-Les-Murs pour son projet au Cambodge, elle reçoit plusieurs prix dont celui de la Fondation HSBC pour la Photographie en 2003. Elle publie la même année Rithy, Chéa et Kim Sour, puis Seul l’air (2009), tous deux aux éditions Actes Sud. Son travail est exposé aux 40ème Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d’Arles.
Les photographies de Laurence Leblanc sont acquises par des collectionneurs privés, le Fonds National d’Art Contemporain ou le Musée Nicéphore Niepce.
Laurence Leblanc est lauréate du Prix Nicéphore Niepce en 2016.
La vidéo (avec le film Bulles de silence) et le son (avec un atelier de création radiophonique sur France Culture) font aussi partie de ses domaines d’expérimentations depuis plusieurs années.

A Deauville dans le cadre du festival Planche(s) Contact

Artiste issue d’une formation plastique, la pratique photographique de Laurence Leblanc reste empreinte d’une attention particulière à la matière et au médium. Chez elle, l’acte de création se construit par imprégnation du sujet et de son environnement.
Laurence Leblanc est accueillie en résidence pour la 7ème édition de Planche(s) Contact et réalisera à Deauville une série d’images sensibles et attentives aux espaces qui s’aménagent entre les humains et les choses.