May 13th & 14th: WEEK-END OF THE ABU DHABI POULES D’ESSAI

For the second consecutive year, Deauville is about to welcome new stars of the Turf on the occasion of the prestigious "Abu Dhabi Poules d’Essai des Poulains et des Pouliches" (Abu Dhabi Poules d’essais competition for colts and fillies), a weekend focused on speed and excellence in a town in which the equestrian world is essential.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

THE BEST PROMISES ON TRACK

The “Poules d’Essai des Poulains et des Pouliches”, two races organized by France Galop, host the best promises of the 3-year-old equestrian generation. These two traditional races will be back to the Paris-Longchamp racecourse in spring 2018, for its reopening to the public after renovation.

2017 offers a unique opportunity to the public to go to Deauville-La Touques racecourse, welcoming equestrian records since 1864, to discover or rediscover high-level competitions taking place at the heart of a region internationally recognized for high-quality breeding and sales. The “Abu Dhabi Poules d’Essai” this year is part of the Epiqe séries circuit. The best English thoroughbred horses will compete in two steps on the 1600-m-long impressive right-line track of Deauville. Two races are planned: the “Poule d’Essai des Pouliche” on Saturday, May 13th and the “Poule d’Essai des Poulains” on Sunday, May 14th.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

AN EXTRAORDINARY WEEK-END

SPRING COMPETITIONS
The public was glad to participate to the first “Poules d’Essai” of Deauville in 2016.
11,230 people attended these competitions for two days, under the sun, and got closer to the prominent new generation athletes.

They could assist to the nice performance of jockey Ryan Moore riding an Irish colt, The Gurkha, during the “Poule d’Essai des Poulains” event of 2016. Considered as one of the finest athletes in the equestrian world, he obtained in December the title of Longines World Best Jockey, at the end of an extraordinary year in which he also won the Qatar Prix of the “Arc de Triomphe”.

Born and bred in Normandy, at the Haras de la Cauvinière, situated 50 km away from Deauville, La Cressonnière was laureate of the “Poule d’Essai des Pouliches” in 2016. After then, this filly maintained her momentum, winning on the following month the “Prix de Diane Longines”. Currently back on her native lands, La Cressonnière is likely to become the mother of future champions.

THE CYCLE OF RACES
So goes the cycle of races, in which champions that are supposed to become the natural father or mother of future generations are tested.

"You breed the best to the best and hope for the best" as an English maxim says. The breeding of thoroughbred horses is the combination of a rigorous selection carried out on the racecourses to “cross the best with the best” and some luckiness to “hope for the best”.

Race horses’ breeding is not an exact science. During (yearling or breeze-up) sales, potential buyers make their choices, selecting young horses that have never competed before. The race performances of their genitors and the success of their first sons are also factors contributing to increase or decrease the price of young recruits.

FUTURE COMPETITORS AT THE AUCTION HALL

Arqana organizes at the Elie de Brignac hall yearling sales (2-year-old horses) in August, October and December.
In 2016, it decided to organize the breeze-up sale, usually taking place in the Paris region, during the “Poules d’Essai” weekend in Deauville. Colts and fillies sold during the Breeze-up are ridden and presented on the stage the day before the auction. Intensive gallop is required to convince future buyers.
This first edition of Breeze-up in Deauville has broken all records with a turnover that was for the first time higher than 10 million euros, median prices, and an unprecedented percentage of sold horses, without forgetting a top sale: 800,000 euros.
This year, more than 130 horses are included to these sales, starting on May 12 at 2 pm, and open to the public.
Public galloping or breeze-up, giving their name to the sale, will take place on the day before, on May 11, from 12 am at the Deauville - La Touques racecourse.

NEW SPONSOR AND ARABIAN THOROUGHBRED HORSES ON TRACK
The “Poules d’Essai” competition and sales have acquired a new partner: the Abu Dhabi Sports Council. Abu Dhabi and its neighbour Dubai are 2 of the 7 Emirates known as United Arab Emirates. The weekend program is enrichened on this occasion by a race reserved to Arabian thoroughbred horses: The President of the UAE Cup – Coupe d’Europe des Chevaux Arabes.

DID YOU KNOW THAT?
The English thoroughbred horse was born across the Channel from the crossing between local mares and three stallions imported from the Middle East: Byerley Turk, Darley Arabian and Godolphin Arabian. The majority of flat gallop races are reserved to English thoroughbred horses, but there is also a program of races for Arabian horses including almost 800 competitions every year.

THE CALENDAR OF THE WEEKEND
- Thursday, May 11: Breeze-Up Arqana – presentation of ridden horses at 12 am at the Deauville-La Touques racecourse,
- Friday, May 12: Breeze Up sale at 2 pm at the ARQANA auction hall.
- Saturday, May 13: beginning of the operations at 1 pm, first race at 2 pm with the Abu Dhabi Poule d’Essai des Pouliches Gr.1 having the top billing.
- Sunday, May 14: starting of the operations at 1:30 pm, first race at 2 pm with the Abu Dhabi Poule d’Essai des Poulains, the Gurkha Coolmore Prix Saint-Alary Gr.1 and The President of the UAE Cup - Coupe d’Europe des Chevaux Arabes Groupe 1 having the top billing.

13 & 14 mai : WEEK-END DES ABU DHABI POULES D’ESSAI

Pour la deuxième année consécutive Deauville s’apprête à accueillir les nouvelles stars du Turf à l’occasion des prestigieuses Abu Dhabi Poules d’Essai des Poulains et des Pouliches, un week-end placé sous le signe de la vitesse et de l’excellence dans une ville où le cheval est roi.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel
© Sandrine Boyer Engel

LES MEILLEURS ESPOIRS EN PISTES

Les Poules d’Essai des Poulains et des Pouliches, deux courses organisées par France Galop, départagent les meilleurs espoirs de la génération des 3 ans. Ces deux courses classiques feront leur retour sur l’hippodrome de Paris-Longchamp au printemps 2018, lorsque que ce dernier rouvrira au public après rénovation.   

2017 offre une occasion unique pour le public de venir sur l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques, terrain de joutes hippiques depuis 1864 pour  découvrir ou redécouvrir des épreuves au plus haut niveau, au coeur d’une région internationalement reconnue pour la qualité de son élevage et de ses ventes. Les Abu Dhabi Poules d’Essai intègrent cette année le circuit des Epiqe séries. L’élite des pur-sang anglais s’y affrontera en deux temps sur les 1600 mètres de l'impressionnante ligne droite de Deauville. Deux courses pour deux sacres: La Poule d’Essai des Pouliche le samedi 13 mai pour une princesse, La Poule d’Essai des Poulains pour un prince le dimanche 14 mai.

© Sandrine Boyer Engel

UN WEEK-END EXCEPTIONNEL

LE SACRE DU PRINTEMPS
La foule a répondu présent pour les toutes premières Poules d’Essai deauvillaises en 2016.
11 230 spectateurs ont assisté aux deux journées, sous le soleil, approchant les athlètes en vue de la nouvelle génération.

Ils ont notamment pu voir le jockey Ryan Moore en selle sur le poulain irlandais The Gurkha, s’imposer dans la  Poule d’Essai des Poulains 2016. Considérée comme l’une des plus fines cravaches au monde, le pilote obtint en décembre le titre de Longines World Best Jockey, à l’issue d’une année exceptionnelle où il remporta également le Qatar Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe.

Héroïne née et élevée en Normandie, La Cressonnière, lauréate de Poule d’Essai des Pouliches 2016 a vu le jour au Haras de la Cauvinière à 50 kilomètres de Deauville. La pouliche a continué sur sa lancée, remportant le mois suivant le Prix de Diane Longines. Aujourd’hui de retour sur les terres qui l’ont vue naitre, La Cressonnière est désormais destinée à devenir maman de futur champions.

LE CYCLE DES COURSES
Ainsi va le cycle des courses, où l’on teste les champions qui deviendront les géniteurs de la future génération.

« You breed the best to the best and hope for the best» comme le dit la maxime anglaise, l’élevage de pur sang est la combinaison d’une selection rigoureuse sur les hippodromes pour « croiser les meilleurs avec les meilleurs» et d’une part de chance pour « espérer le meilleur. »

L’élevage de chevaux de course est loin d’être une science exacte. Lorsqu’arrivent les ventes (de yearlings ou breeze-up), les acheteurs potentiels font leur choix sur de jeunes chevaux n’ayant jamais couru. Les performances en courses des parents et la réussite des premiers rejetons sont autant de facteurs qui contribuent à faire monter ou baisser le prix des jeunes recrues.

LES FUTURS CONCURRENTS SOUS LE FEU DES ENCHERES

Arqana organise à l’établissement Elie de Brignac des ventes des yearlings (jeunes chevaux dans leur 2e année) en août, octobre et décembre.
En 2016, l’agence de vente a choisi de profiter du week-end des Poules d’Essai à Deauville pour délocaliser ses ventes breeze-ups qui se tenaient habituellement en région parisienne. Les poulains et pouliches vendus lors des Breeze-up sont montés et présentés en piste la veille des enchères. On leur demande alors un galop soutenu destiné à convaincre les futurs acquéreurs.
Cette première édition des Breeze-ups à Deauville a battu tous les records avec un chiffre d’affaire dépassant pour la première fois les 10 millions d’euros, des prix moyens, medians et un pourcentage de chevaux vendus encore jamais atteints, sans oublier un top des ventes à 800 000 euros.
Cette année, plus de 130 chevaux sont inscrits aux ventes qui commenceront le 12 mai à 14 heures et sont ouvertes au public.
Les galops publics ou « breeze-up », qui donnent leur nom à la vente, auront lieu la veille (le 11 mai à partir de midi sur l’hippodrome de Deauville - La Touques).

NOUVEAU SPONSOR ET PUR SANG ARABES EN PISTE
Les Poules d’Essai et les ventes ont depuis cette année un nouveau partenaire: L’Abu Dhabi Sports Council. Abu Dhabi et son voisin Dubai sont 2 des 7 émirats connus sous le nom d’Emirats Arabes Unis. Le week-end verra pour l’occasion son programme enrichi d’une course réservée aux pur sang arabes : The President of the UAE Cup – Coupe d’Europe des Chevaux Arabes.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ?
Le pur sang anglais est né outre-Manche du croisement entre les juments locales et trois étalons importés du Moyen Orient : Byerley Turk, Darley Arabian et Godolphin Arabian. Si la plupart des courses de galop sur le plat sont destinée aux pur sang anglais, il existe également un programme de courses pour chevaux arabes qui comporte près de 80 épreuves chaque année.

LE CALENDRIER DU WEEK-END
- Jeudi 11 mai : Breeze-Up Arqana – présentation montée des chevaux à 12h00 sur l’hippodrome de Deauville-La Touques,
- Vendredi 12 mai : Vente Breeze Up à 14h00 dans l’établissement des ventes Arqana,
- Samedi 13 mai : début des opérations à 13h30, première course à 14h00 avec The Abu Dhabi Poule d’Essai des Pouliches Groupe 1 en tête d’affiche,
- Dimanche 14 mai : début des opérations à 13h30, première course à 14h00 avec The Abu Dhabi Poule d’Essai des Poulains, the Gurkha Coolmore Prix Saint-Alary Groupe 1 et The President of the UAE Cup – Coupe d’Europe des Chevaux Arabes Groupe 1 en tête d’affiche.