LUCIE & SIMON

Photographers

© Lucie & Simon

2013 Guests of the Planche(s) Contact Festival

Lucie de Barbuat is French and Simon Brodbeck is German. Under the name of Lucie & Simon, they have been working together since 2005 in Paris and in New-York and they are currently studying, through large format photos and videos, the role of “Man in the XXI century”. Continuously dealing with the relationship between Man and the society, their works highlight specific subjects such as environment, daily loneliness and suspension of the time notion. Lucie & Simon often use modern technical processes and technologies: through photomontages, 3D computerised creations, zenith points of view or combinations of photos and videos, their common works look like scenes inspired by romantic painting, science fiction cinema and German expressionism. 

Their works were rewarded in France and abroad in the last years, namely by the Prix H.S.B.C pour la Photographie in 2010, the Prix de la Fondation Marcel Bleustein Blanchet, the Prix Nestlé and the Prix de la Bourse du Talent in collaboration with the National Library of France in 2009. After having photographed Paris, New York, Tokyo and Beijing, they came to Deauville, and took some photos of an empty and silent city by night. They offered a new perspective of Deauville, combining still images and videos.

"By night, the camera reveals landscapes that are not visible to the naked eye. The slow camera recording is used to reveal the blurred colours of the night, and to discover hidden and imaginary words situated close to the city, reminding the myth of Atlantis."

LUCIE & SIMON

Photographes

© Lucie & Simon

Invités au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2013

Lucie de Barbuat est Française et Simon Brodbeck, Allemand. Sous le nom de Lucie & Simon, ils travaillent ensemble depuis 2005 entre Paris et New-York et étudient sous la forme de photographies et vidéos très grand format, la place de « l'Homme au XXIe siècle ». Confrontant continuellement l'Humain à la société dans laquelle il vit, leur œuvre met en avant des thèmes tels que l'environnement, la solitude du quotidien et la mise en suspens de la notion de temps. Lucie & Simon ont le plus souvent recours à des procédés techniques et technologiques modernes : montages photos, créations informatiques 3D, point de vue zénithal ou encore mélange entre photographie et vidéo, leur œuvre commune prend la forme de mises en scènes inspirées par la peinture romantique, le cinéma de science-fiction et l'expressionnisme allemand.

Leur œuvre a été récompensée ces dernières années en France et à l’étranger, notamment par le Prix H.S.B.C pour la Photographie en 2010, le Prix de la Fondation Marcel Bleustein Blanchet, le Prix Nestlé ou encore le Prix de la Bourse du Talent en association avec la Bibliothèque nationale de France en 2009. Après Paris, New York, Tokyo ou Pékin, ils ont photographié la ville de Deauville, vide, silencieuse et de nuit. Une nouvelle perception de Deauville, mêlant images fixes et vidéos.

« La nuit, l’appareil photographique révèle des paysages inexistants à l’œil nu. La lenteur de l’enregistrement nécessaire à la photographie laisse apparaître les couleurs voilées de la nuit, et découvre ainsi des mondes cachés et imaginaires à la périphérie de nos villes, rappelant le mythe de l’Atlantide ».