Ismaël Margain

Musician

"Turn the pages for Nicholas Angelich during a Brahms’s Quartet, an incredible moment”

Ismaël Margain was born in Sarlat in 1992 where he started to study music (piano, flute, saxophone, jazz and composition) until he was admitted to the Conservatoire national supérieur de musique de Paris. He was trained by Jacques Rouvier, Nicholas Angelich, then Roger Muraro.

He was a laureate of the Génération SPEDIDAM 2011 international competition. He performed his version of the concerto n. 4 by Beethoven, awarded by Aldo Ciccolini, at the Touquet International Music Masters 2012 in the concerto en sol by Maurice Ravel. But Ismaël was discovered by the public at the Long-Thibaud international competition 2012: he played the concerto n. 23 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, accompanied by the Philharmonic orchestra of Radio France, and won the public prize and the 3rd Marguerite Long great prize.

He was invited to the Easter and August Festivals of Deauville, Chopin Festival in Paris, Bel-Air Claviers Festival, Pablo Casals of Prades, Vacances de Monsieur Haydn, Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse. In 2014, he played the two concertos by Ravel with the Philharmonic orchestra of Nice.

He won the 1st prize at the Société des Arts competition in Geneva in 2012, then he performed in Germany at the Klavier Festival Ruhr, in Switzerland and Bulgaria in the 2nd Chopin’s concerto, and went on a tour to Latin America and the United States to play several recitals, concertos and masterclasses.

Ismaël Margain is resident artist of the Singer-Polignac foundation and laureate of the Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe. He formed a piano duo for four hands with Guillaume Bellom and they recorded together two albums, dedicated to Franz Schubert and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, under the Aparté label.

An album dedicated to Mendelssohn and recorded in 2014 in Deauville was released by B Records.

Ismaël Margain

Musicien

"Tourner les pages à Nicholas Angelich dans un Quatuor de Brahms, un moment sublime"

Ismaël Margain est né en 1992 à Sarlat où il entame sa formation musicale (piano, flûte, saxophone, jazz et écriture) jusqu'à son admission à l'unanimité au Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de Paris. Il y travaille avec Jacques Rouvier, Nicholas Angelich, puis Roger Muraro.

Lauréat du concours international "Génération SPEDIDAM 2011" sa version du concerto n°4 de Beethoven, primée par Aldo Ciccolini, l'amène à se produire au Touquet International Music Masters 2012 dans le concerto en sol de Maurice Ravel. Mais c'est au concours international Long-Thibaud 2012 que le grand public découvre Ismaël: accompagné par l'orchestre philharmonique de Radio France avec lequel il joue le concerto n°23 de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart et obtient le prix du public et le 3e grand prix Marguerite Long.

Il est invité aux festivals de Pâques et Août à Deauville, Chopin à Paris, au Bel-Air Claviers Festival, Pablo Casals de Prades, aux Vacances de Monsieur Haydn, à Piano aux Jacobins à Toulouse. En 2014 il joue les deux concertos de Ravel avec l'orchestre philharmonique de Nice.

Il remporte le 1er prix au concours de la Société des Arts à Genève en 2012, puis il se produit en Allemagne au Klavier Festival Ruhr, en Suisse et en Bulgarie dans le 2e concerto de Chopin, et part en tournée en Amérique Latine et aux Etats-Unis pour une série de récitals, concertos et masterclasses.

Ismaël Margain est artiste résident de la fondation Singer-Polignac et lauréat du prix de la Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe. Il forme un duo de piano à quatre mains avec Guillaume Bellom avec lequel a enregistré deux disques, consacrés à Franz Schubert et Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, pour le label Aparté.

Un disque consacré à Mendelssohn enregistré en 2014 à Deauville a paru chez B Records.