SARAH MOON

Photographer

© Sara Moon
© Naïade Plante
© Hélène Reitzaum

"The light of Deauville, a real festival!"

As a fashion and advertisement photographer since 1968, Sarah Moon soon gained recognition and awards in Paris, London, New York, and Tokyo where her exhibitions had a great success. Her photographs have been published in numerous magazines as well as in books (Souvenirs improbables, Le Petit Chaperon rouge, 12345…).

Since 1980, she has created over 150 advertisement films, as well as several feature films. Sarah Moon is the creator of a very personal photographic production, focusing on the fleetingness of beauty, and the passing of time.

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2014, Sarah Moon photographed the beach in winter: a series entitled Deauville face à la mer, presenting a sleeping city in the cold and the storm. "I’ve been very glad to have the opportunity to freely work in Deauville. I’ve spent two days in the fog. It was amazing. I had the privilege to see this festive place under these uncommon conditions. The light changed all the time, it was so beautiful. The straight architectural lines of the houses around me became blurred and endless", claimed the photographer. In Deauville, "the sun disappears and comes back again, the sky is grey and quickly blue again. It’s a real festival!", she added. "I capture privilege, evanescence - the improbable or the beauty – I seek feelings which makes the task that much harder", she wrote. "I often envy those who know how photographing life. I flee from it, I start from nothing, I witness nothing, I invent a story that I do not tell, I imagine a situation that does not exist, I create a place that erases another, I move light, I hope for chance and I hope being pushed while I am taking my photo."

SARAH MOON

Photographe

© Sara Moon
© Naïade Plante
© Hélène Reitzaum

"La lumière de Deauville, un vrai festival !"

Photographe de mode et de publicité depuis 1968, Sarah Moon obtient très vite éloges et prix à Paris, Londres, New-York ou Tokyo, où ses expositions sont très remarquées. Ses photos font l’objet de publications dans de nombreux magazines, ainsi que dans des livres (Souvenirs improbables, Le Petit Chaperon rouge, 12345…).

Depuis 1980, elle a signé plus de cent cinquante films publicitaires, ainsi que plusieurs longs métrages. Sarah Moon est l’auteur d’une oeuvre photographique très personnelle, mettant en lumière la fugacité de la beauté, l’éphémère et l’usure du temps.

Invitée au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2014, Sarah Moon a photographié la plage de Deauville l’hiver, imaginant une série intitulée Deauville face à la mer, quand tout est endormi, engourdi par le froid et la tempête. "Je suis ravie d'avoir eu cette opportunité de travailler librement à Deauville. J'ai passé deux jours dans la brume. Ce fut magnifique. J'ai eu le sentiment d'un réel privilège de voir cet endroit toujours si festif dans ces conditions-là. La lumière changeait tout le temps, c'était très beau. Je voyais cette architecture, et des lignes sans fins, quand elles sont habituellement coupées par des silhouettes", se félicite la photographe. A Deauville, "il y a des percées de soleil, le ciel passe du gris au bleu, cela va très vite. C'est un vrai festival !", ajoute-t-elle. "Je photographie le privilège, l'évanescence — l'improbable ou la beauté — j'y cherche l'émotion et la quête en est d'autant plus désespérante, écrira-t-elle. Souvent j'envie ceux qui savent photographier la vie. Moi, je la fuis — je pars de rien — je ne témoigne de rien — j'invente une histoire que je raconte pas, j'imagine une situation qui n'existe pas — je crée un lieu où j'en efface un autre, je déplace la lumière — j'espère le hasard et je souhaite plus que tout être touchée en même temps que je vise".