Rues de Gheest, Pasteur,
Raspail et Laplace

14800 DEAUVILLE

Behind the seafront, it is found a district including many villas, most of them of the beginning of the century, lined on the road or slightly set back. Differently from the aristocratic seaside manors, these medium-sized villas are sometimes terraced houses. The atmosphere is peaceful, the small front-yard plants and flowers contribute to give a green nuance to the area.

Visit the Gheest, Pasteur, Raspail and Laplace roads, as if you were in a museum, and discover the wall decorations – painted half-timbering, brick and stone façade – and animated roofs. This harmonious and calm structure is emphasized by clerestories and hedges.

André Citroën, who loved spending time in Deauville, opened in 1928 in this district of the villas a garage and an exhibition hall for his cars (the current Morny cinema - 23 Avenue du Général de Gaulle).
In addition to models of the time (5CV, 7CV, B10, B12, B14), some caterpillars built for the “Croisière Jaune” were exhibited. One of them started to be used on the beach to bring bathers up to the sea.

quartier_villa_deauville©vD

Quartier des Villas

A l’arrière du front de mer, un quartier composé de villas, pour beaucoup du début du siècle, alignées sur la rue ou légèrement en retrait. Contrairement à celles du bord de mer, aristocratiques, les villas sont de taille moyenne, parfois mitoyennes. L’ambiance y est paisible, les petits avant-jardins plantés donnent une tonalité verte à l’ensemble.

Visitez les rues de Gheest, Pasteur, Raspail et Laplace comme si vous étiez dans un musée pour découvrir les parements des murs – faux pan de bois, damiers de briques et de pierres - et les toitures animées. Cet ensemble harmonieux et calme est renforcé par les clôtures à claire-voie et les haies.

André Citroën, qui aime passer du temps à Deauville, ouvre en 1928 dans ce quartier des villas un garage et un hall d’exposition de ses voitures (l’actuel Cinéma Morny – adresse à mettre).
Outre les modèles de l’époque (5CV, 7CV, B10, B12, B14), on présente des auto-chenilles. Elles ont été construites pour la Croisière Jaune. L’une d’elle sera longtemps en activité sur la plage pour emmener les baigneurs jusqu’à la mer.

quartier_villa_deauville©vD Ville de Deauville