Tao Ravao

Invited to the Books & Music Festival 2017

Tao Ravao, Madagascan multiinstrumentalist, writes, composes and performs music. His instruments are both traditional and modern: Valiha (Madagascan harp), Kabosy (Madagascan lute), Lapsteel (Hawaiian guitar), Litungu (Kenyan harp), Krar (Ethiopian harp), acoustic guitar and bass.
Spiritual heir of the legendary Bluesman Hosick-James, he started as a folksinger and, once arrived to Paris, he learned to play banjo, mandolin and finally guitar. When he was 20, listening to “Mr Bottleneck” alias Homesick-James, he started to get fond of blues. He decided to join his master in Chicago. There, he studied at the same time blues and Madagascan traditional music. He played with Big Walter Horton, Louisina Red, Eddie C.Campbell, Grady Gaines.
Tao Ravao went on a worldwide tour with Valiha player Justin Vali. He also recorded several albums, he was the artistic director of musicians as D’Gary, Jean-Emilien and Sengé, awarded by the RFI, and also composed for the theatre “Un jour, ma mémoire” by Michèle Rakotoson, “Noirs paradis” by R.Lykson and “Introspection” by P.Handke. He created the Ny Malagasy orkestra, associating traditional masters to Madagascan music.

Tao Ravao

Invité au Festival Livres & Musiques 2017

Tao Ravao, multi-instrumentiste malgache, écrit, compose et interprète. Ses instruments sont aussi bien traditionnels que modernes : Valiha (harpe malgache), Kabosy (Luth malgache), Lapsteel (guitare hawaïenne), Litungu (harpe du Kenya), Krar (harpe d’Ethiopie), Guitare sèche et basse.
Fils spirituel du Légendaire Bluesman Hosick-James, il débute comme « Folksinger » et apprend dès son arrivée à Paris à jouer du banjo, de la mandoline et enfin de la guitare. A 20 ans, c’est en écoutant « Mr Bottleneck » alias Homesick-James, que lui vient sa passion pour le blues. Il décide alors de rejoindre son maître à Chicago. Là, il étudie simultanément le Blues et les musiques traditionnelles malgaches. Il joue aux côtés de « Big Walter Horton », Louisina Red, Eddie C.Campbell, Grady Gaines.
Tao Ravao accompagne lors d’une tournée mondiale le joueur de Valiha Justin Vali. Il enregistre aussi de nombreux disques, assure la direction artistique de musiciens comme D’Gary, Jean-Emilien et Sengé primé par RFI et compose aussi pour le théâtre tels « Un jour, ma mémoire » de Michèle Rakotoson, « Noirs paradis » de R.Lykson et « Introspection » de P.Handke. Il a créé Ny Malagasy orkestra, réunion des maîtres traditionnels de la musique malgache.