JEREMIE RHORER

Musician, member of the jury of the Books & Music Festival

SBE

Jérémie Rhorer entered the Maîtrise de Radio-France as petit chanteur in 1985. Here he discovered his passion for orchestra conduction and sang under the direction of prestigious orchestra conductors, such as Colin Davis and Lorin Maazel.

Student of Emil Tchakarov, former assistant of Herbert Karajan, he entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in 1991. After his studies of music writing, analysis, conduction and harpsichord, he obtained 4 first prizes, 3 of them unanimously.

Then he became assistant and associate of William Christie and Marc Minkovski, entrusting the latter with the direction of Hercules by G.F. Haendel at the Theater an der Wien and of La Flûte enchantée by W.A.Mozart at the Teatro Real de Madrid.

Currently regularly invited to the main festivals, Aix en Provence, Salzburg, Glyndebourne, the Opéra de Vienna, where he made his debut in 2011, Munich, the Théâtre de la Monnaie, he directed at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, with the Cercle de l'harmonie, a Mozart cycle including Idomeneo, Cosi fan tutte, Don Giovanni and Clemenza du Tito from 2011 to 2014.

Among the orchestras he regularly conducts, we can mention the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Wiener Philharmoniker, the Staatskapelle Dresden, the Yomiuri orchestra in Japan, the Orchestre National de France, the Netherlands Philarmonic, the Hessicher Rundfunk in Frankfurt.

With the Philharmonia, he conducted in 2013 a production of Dialogues des Carmélites (staging Olivier Py) made by F.Poulenc at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, obtaining in 2014 the Grand Prix du Syndicat de la critique.

The Philharmonia Orchestra has just assigned him, composer and student of Thierry Escaich, a concerto for piano for French pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet, which will be created in 2017 in London.

In the 2015-2016 season, he started working with the Rotterdam Philharmonic, the Gewandhaus of Leipzig and then again with the Philharmonia, and conducted his first Verdi (Stiffelio) at the Opéra de Francfort and Béatrice et Bénédict (H. Berlioz) at the Théâtre de la Monnaie.

JEREMIE RHORER

Musicien

SBE

C'est à la maîtrise de Radio-France où il entre petit chanteur en 1985, que naît la vocation de Jérémie Rhorer pour la direction d'orchestre, en chantant sous la direction de prestigieux chefs d'orchestre, tels Colin Davis et Lorin Maazel .

Élève d'Emil Tchakarov, lui même ancien assistant d'Herbert Karajan, il entre au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris en 1991. A l'issue de ses études d'écriture, d'analyse, d'orchestration et de clavecin, il obtient 4 premiers prix dont trois à l'unanimité.

Il devient ensuite l'assistant et l'associé de William Christie et Marc Minkovski qui lui confient respectivement la direction de Hercules de G.F. Haendel au Theater an der Wien,  et de La Flûte enchantée de W.A.Mozart au Teatro Real de Madrid.

Aujourd'hui Invité régulier des plus grands festivals, Aix en Provence, Salzburg, Glyndebourne, des Opéra de Vienne où il débute en 2011, et de Munich, du Théâtre de la Monnaie, il dirige au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, avec le Cercle de l'harmonie, un cycle Mozart comprenant Idomeneo, Cosi fan tutte, Don Giovanni et la Clemenza du Tito entre 2011 et 2014.

Parmi les orchestres qu'il dirige régulièrement, on peut citer  le Philharmonia Orchestra, le Wiener Philharmoniker, la Staatskapelle Dresden, le Yomiuri orchestra au Japon, l'Orchestre National de France, le Netherlands Philarmonic, la Hessicher Rundfunk à Frankcort.

A la tête du Philharmonia, il dirige en 2013 au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées une production du Dialogues des Carmélites (mise en scène Olivier Py) de F.Poulenc,  qui obtiendra en 2014 le Grand Prix du Syndicat de la critique.

Compositeur, élève de Thierry Escaich,  le Philharmonia Orchestra vient de lui commander un concerto pour piano,  pour le pianiste français Jean-Yves Thibaudet qui sera créé en 2017 à Londres.

La saison 2015-2016 verra ses débuts au Rotterdam Philharmonic, au Gewandhaus de Leipzig et son retour au Philharmonia, ainsi que son premier Verdi (Stiffelio) à  l'opéra de Francfort et Béatrice et Bénédict (H. Berlioz) au Théâtre de la Monnaie.