Jean Rondeau

Musician

After having taken harpsichord lessons with Blandine Verlet for more than ten years, Jean Rondeau studied basso continuo, organ, piano, jazz and improvisation, composing, choral and orchestral conducting. These long and happy years of learning were spent at the Conservatoire de Paris and at the Guildhall School of London. He completed his studies in harpsichord and basso continuo with first class honours.

Aged twenty-one, Jean Rondeau was awarded with the 1st Prize at the International Harpsichord Competition of Bruges in 2012 and the EUBO Development Trust prize, assigned to the youngest and most promising musicians of the European Union. In the same year, he was also a laureate of the Prague Spring International Harpsichord Competition (64th festival, 2012), obtaining the 2nd Prize as well as the Prize for the best performance of the contemporary piece written for this contest. In 2013, he also obtained the Young Soloist Prize by the Radios Francophones Publiques.

He released with Earto (Warner Classics) his first solo album titled Imagine and dedicated to Jean-Sébastien Bach at the beginning of 2015 and won the Instrumental Soloist revelation Prize at the Victoires de la musique on the same year.

Through solo, chamber music or orchestra, Jean Rondeau had the chance of performing throughout Europe, in its main capitals and during its major festivals, and also in North America (United States and Canada). He is a founding member of the Note Forget group (winner of Trophées du Sunside 2012), playing his compositions in a more jazz-oriented style, and of the Nevermind group (winner of the Utrecht Early Music Festival Prize), whose repertoire is mainly oriented to baroque chamber music of the 18th century.

Jean Rondeau

Musicien

D’abord élève en clavecin de Blandine Verlet pendant plus de dix ans, Jean Rondeau s’est formé en basse continue, en orgue, en piano, en jazz et improvisation, en écriture, et en direction de choeur et d’orchestre. Ce sont de longues pages de bonheur de ses années d’apprentissage qu’il a parcouru au conservatoire de Paris ainsi qu’à la Guildhall School de Londres. Il y obtient ses prix de clavecin et basse continue avec mention très bien et félicitations du jury.

A vingt et un ans seulement, Jean Rondeau se voit décerner le 1er prix du Concours international de clavecin de Bruges en 2012 ainsi que le prix « EUBO Development Trust », attribué au plus jeune et prometteur musicien de l’Union Européenne. La même année, il est également lauréat du Concours international de clavecin du Printemps de Prague (64ème festival, 2012) dont il obtient le 2e Prix ainsi que le Prix de la meilleure interprétation de la pièce contemporaine écrite pour ce concours. En 2013, il obtient aussi le prix Jeune Soliste des Radios Francophones Publiques.

Il sort son premier disque en solo ‘Imagine’ consacré à Jean-Sébastien Bach chez Earto (Warner Classics) début 2015 et est « Révélation soliste instrumental » aux Victoires de la musique la même année.

En solo, musique de chambre ou orchestre, Jean Rondeau a eu la chance de se produire fréquemment dans toute l’Europe, ses plus grandes capitales et ses grands festivals, ainsi qu’en Amérique du Nord (Etats-Unis et Canada). Il se produit également plus spécifiquement avec « Note Forget » (vainqueur des Trophées du Sunside 2012), groupe dont il est membre fondateur où sont jouées ses compositions, dans un univers plus orienté vers le jazz, ainsi que « Nevermind » (prix du Festival de musique ancienne d’Utrecht), groupe dont il est membre fondateur et dans lequel le répertoire s’oriente principalement vers la musique de chambre baroque du 18e siècle.