KISHIN SHINOYAMA

Photographer

© Kishin Shinoyama
© 1616 Prod

2013 Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival

Since the end of the 1960’s, Kishin Shinoyama’s work has been mainly focused on nude images: classic, perfectly composed nudes with subtle color plays or black and white variations. Nowadays, he is one of the most notable Japanese photographers. He has written over 350 books – his first, 28 Girls, was published in 1968 - some of which have been sold at over 700 000 copies in Japan.  

To him, photography is a mirror reflecting time and periods. It is through this mirror that he represented Deauville:  The expression of nudity constantly changes according to times, places, countries’ beliefs, laws, common sense. And according to these elements, there are certain liberties and prohibitions...New expressions of nudity are still possible”. 

According to Shinoyama, nudity is not only expressed through the female body: the environment in which women live is determining. He also photographs places: he has written several books on houses of great artists such as Man Ray, Italian movie director Luchino Visconti, and writer Mishima.

His invitation at the Deauville Planche(s) Contact festival was quite eventful for it was the first time that nudity was presented in the photographic creations of the festival. Kishin Shinomaya’s work also allowed mixing imaginary representations of Deauville and Japan. Most of his photographs were shot in the Calouste Gulbenkian park.

KISHIN SHINOYAMA

Photographe

© Kishin Shinoyama
© 1616 Prod

Invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2013

Depuis la fin des années 60, les images de nus jalonnent la carrière de Kishin Shinoyama : des nus classiques parfaitement composés de subtils jeux de couleurs ou de dégradés de noir et blanc.  Il est aujourd’hui l’un des plus grands maîtres de la photographe japonaise. Certains de ses livres – plus de 350 à ce jour depuis le premier, 28 Girls, sorti en 1968 - se sont vendus au Japon à plus de 700 000 exemplaires. 

Pour lui, la photographie est un miroir qui reflète le temps et l'époque, qui reflètera Deauville : «  L'expression du nu évolue sans cesse selon l'époque, la localité, les croyances du pays, la loi, le sens commun. Et selon ces éléments, il y a des libertés ou des interdictions…de nouvelles expressions sont encore tout à fait possibles ».

Enfin, pour lui, le nu n’est pas simplement un corps féminin : l’environnement dans lequel la femme évolue est déterminant. Car c’est aussi un photographe des lieux, on lui doit plusieurs livres sur les maisons de grands artistes comme Man Ray, le cinéaste italien Luchino Visconti ou l’écrivain Mishima.

Son invitation à Deauville fut un événement parce que pour la première fois, le nu a été traité dans les productions photographiques du Festival et que le travail réalisé par Kishin Shinoyama a permis de mêler l’imaginaire de Deauville avec celui du Japon. Il a réalisé ses photos essentiellement au Parc des Enclos Calouste Gulbenkian.