Tropique du Cancer

Invited to the Books & Music Festival 2017

Moonlight Benjamin, Haitian singer and voodoo priestess, reached France in 2002 with the aim of deepening her music knowledge. She founded group Dyaoulé Pemba, with the desire to make Haiti known through traditional songs and poetry. She currently performs in show Jazz Racines Haiti of saxophonist Jacques Schwarz-Bart and goes on tour worldwide with a trio of musicians, letting her Creole soul sing and vibrate. Her sensual, soul, extraordinary and fervent voice takes the public on a journey to the heart of the great diversity of the Haitian creative soul. It is captivating as a voodoo ritual.
Xavier Amblard, drummer and percussionist, obtained the professional certificate of the FNEIJ, Fédération Nationale des Ecoles de Jazz at the École Music’Halle de Toulouse. He got specialized in steel drums playing with Tropique du Cancer and Mambo Bidon steel bands, of which he became artistic director in 2007. He currently plays -ka Guadeloupean music in groups Trini Bird in Orléans, Mambo Bidon, Tropique du cancer and Ô-Banaka gwo. He teaches steel pan at school, in the framework of the pedagogic project known as Orchestres à l’école.
Philippe Gal, passionate for any kinds of music, found his dimension between low sounds of double bass and high sounds of steel drums. He has been studying double bass at the Conservatory of Geneva and Lausanne, jazz at the Conservatory of Marseille, arrangement with Yvan Julien and music pedagogy with Joy Kane. In 1986, he founded one of the first French steel bands: Tropique du Cancer. He currently plays with Ravi Prasad and Catherine Vaniscotte. He played with musicians Sonny Stitt, Siegfried Kessler, Eric Barret, Christian Escoudé, Adama Dramé, Alain Brunet, and in group Steckar Tuba Pack…
In 1986, the Tropique du Cancer group created one of the first French steel bands. Since then, it performed in France and abroad with street shows that make giant robots dance on West Indian and Latin-American rhythms. Their show known as Au-delà des mers is staged by Fabrice Guérin, actor and playwright, very appreciated by young people (for his string puppets and songs). He also staged La grande évasion d’Hervé Suhubiette!

Tropique du Cancer

Invité au Festival Livres & Musiques 2017

Chanteuse haïtienne et prêtresse vaudou, Moonlight Benjamin s’installe en France en 2002 afin de parfaire sa formation musicale. Elle fonde le groupe Dyaoulé Pemba, avec le désir de faire connaître Haïti à travers ses chants traditionnels et sa poésie. Elle se produit actuellement dans le spectacle Jazz Racines Haïti, du saxophoniste Jacques Schwarz-Bart et tourne dans le monde entier avec un trio de musiciens, faisant chanter et vibrer l’âme créole. Une voix sensuelle, soul, magnifique et fervente, pour un voyage au sein de l’immense diversité de l’âme créatrice haïtienne. Envoûtante comme un rite vaudou.
Xavier Amblard, batteur et percussionniste, obtient le diplôme professionnel de la FNEIJ, Fédération Nationale des Ecoles de Jazz à l’école Music’Halle de Toulouse. Il se spécialise dans le steel drum, dans les steel bands Tropique du Cancer et Mambo Bidon, dont il prend la direction artistique en 2007. Il joue actuellement dans les groupes Trini Bird à Orléans, Mambo Bidon, Tropique du cancer et Ô-Banaka, musique guadeloupéenne gwo-ka. Il enseigne le steel pan en milieu scolaire, dans le cadre du dispositif pédagogique : Orchestres à l’école.
Curieux de toutes les musiques, Philippe Gal trouve son équilibre entre les graves de la contrebasse et les aigus du steel drum. Il a étudié la contrebasse classique aux conservatoires de Genève et de Lausanne, le jazz au conservatoire de Marseille, l’arrangement avec Yvan Julien et la pédagogie musicale avec Joy Kane. En 1986, il fonde l’un des premiers steel band français, Tropique du Cancer. Il joue actuellement avec Ravi Prasad et Catherine Vaniscotte. Il s’est produit avec les musiciens Sonny Stitt, Siegfried Kessler, Eric Barret, Christian Escoudé, Adama Dramé, Alain Brunet, et dans les groupes Steckar Tuba Pack…
En 1986, la compagnie Tropique du Cancer crée l’un des premiers steel band français. Depuis, elle tourne en France et à l’étranger avec des spectacles de rue qui font danser des robots géants sur des rythmes antillais et latino. Le spectacle Au-delà des mers est mis en scène par Fabrice Guérin, comédien et dramaturge très prisé de la sphère jeune public (marionnette et chanson) ; La grande évasion d’Hervé Suhubiette, c’est lui aussi !