KEES VAN DONGEN

Painter

© collection Gilbert Hamel
© Gilbert Hamel - Ville de Deauville

The "king" of the Boardwalk

In 1913, Van Dongen and his family spent their first summer in Deauville. The artist discovered and adopted the seaside city during the Roaring Twenties era. He could be found watching the races, on the beach, and at the Bar du Soleil. His slender silhouette, white beard and pipe made him easily recognizable among the other celebrities dwelling in Deauville at the time.

Born in Holland, Kees Van Dongen definitely settled in Paris in 1900. In 1905, as a friend of Derain and Vlaminck, he shared the adventures of the Fauve painters. He settled in Montmartre at the Bateau-Lavoir and joined Picasso’s group, alongside Salmon, Apollinaire, Dorgelès, and Mac Orlan. His portraits soon made him famous and he started receiving a large number of commissions, namely a commission from a Le Havre-based ship-owner which brought the famous painter to the coasts of Normandy around 1910.
In 1920, during his first stays in Deauville, Van Dongen worked with fashion designer Paul Poiret to create a book, simply entitled "Deauville". Paul Poiret wrote the texts, while Van Dongen illustrated the book with a number of watercolors representing the casino, La Potinière, the races, the beach and its elegantly dressed ladies. A first series of his watercolors were exposed in Paris in 1920. Deauville, a book which is now very sought after by book collectors was published in 1931, embellished with a second series of watercolors painted in 1929. In March of 1921, Van Dongen illustrated his vision of Deauville once again with an exhibition of 84 canvases at the Bernheim-Jeune gallery. After the war in 1947, he returned to Deauville where he became once again one of the city’s main figures. He was often photographed for celebrity magazines. In 1955, he designed a poster for the White Gala and a touristic poster to promote Deauville. At the beginning of the 1960’s, over the age of 80, Van Dongen returned to Deauville every year spending his summers at the Hotel Normandy where he checked in until 1963.

“Van Dongen is the slow and nonchalant one with the gleaming eyes. If I were to name him, I would call him Zigomar or Glouglou”…
Jacques-Henri Lartigue, journal, February 1923.

“In Le Havre, a Dutch ship owner wanted me to pain his portrait. I went to his house; I painted his portrait and then took a stroll along the coast, which was very pretty, in Honfleur, and Trouville. Deauville suited me like a glove. I found my regular clientele and it reminded me of Holland. Because of the light”
Van Dongen.
Interview with Henri Perruchot, Les Nouvelles littéraires, artistiques et scientifiques, August 7th 1958

KEES VAN DONGEN

Peintre

© collection Gilbert Hamel
© Gilbert Hamel - Ville de Deauville

Le "roi" des Planches

Lors de l’été 1913, Van Dongen et sa famille passent leur premier été à Deauville. Lors des années folles, Van Dongen adopte Deauville. On le croise aux courses, à la plage et au Bar du Soleil. Sa longue silhouette, sa barbe blanche et sa pipe le rendent vite reconnaissable parmi les célébrités qui font l’image et l’animation de Deauville.

Né en Hollande, Kees Van Dongen, s’établit définitivement à Paris en 1900. En 1905, ami de Derain et Vlaminck, il partage l’aventure des peintres Fauves. Il s’installe à Montmartre au Bateau-Lavoir et rejoint la bande à Picasso aux côtés de Salmon, Apollinaire, Dorgelès et Mac Orlan. Ses portraits le rendent célèbre et déclenchent de nombreuses commandes. C’est justement une commande de portrait, d’un armateur du Havre, qui va attirer le célèbre peintre des années folles, sur les côtes normandes, vers 1910.
Van Dongen profite de ces premiers séjours à Deauville pour concevoir en 1920 avec le couturier Paul Poiret, un livre sobrement intitulé Deauville. Paul Poiret écrit les textes, tandis que Van Dongen illustre avec un ensemble d’aquarelles représentant le casino, La Potinière, les courses, la plage et ses élégantes. Une première série de ses aquarelles est à Paris en novembre 1920. Deauville, livre très recherché aujourd’hui par les bibliophiles, paraîtra en 1931, enrichi d’une seconde série d’aquarelles réalisée en 1929. En mars 1921, Van Dongen témoigne une nouvelle fois de son regard sur Deauville en exposant à la galerie Bernheim- Jeune, vingt quatre toiles. Après la guerre, en 1947, il retrouve Deauville où il redevient le Roi des Planches. On le retrouve, régulièrement photographié dans les magazines grand public. En 1955, il réalise une affiche pour Le gala blanc puis une affiche touristique pour promouvoir Deauville. Au début des années 60, à plus de 80 ans, Van Dongen revient chaque été à Deauville en prenant pension à l’Hôtel Normandy, où son nom figure sur les registres jusqu’en 1963.

Van Dongen c’est le lent nonchalant aux yeux pétillants. Si je le baptisais je l’appellerais «  Zigomar » ou  « Glouglou »…
Jacques Henri Lartigue, journal, février  1923

Au Havre, un armateur d’origine hollandaise désirait que je fasse son portrait. Je suis allé chez lui, j’ai brossé son portrait puis je suis allé me promener sur la côte, qui était très jolie, à Honfleur, à Trouville. Deauville m’allait comme un gant. J’y retrouvais ma clientèle et ça ressemblait à la Hollande. A cause de la lumière.
Van Dongen.
Entretien avec Henri Perruchot, Les Nouvelles littéraires, artistiques et scientifiques, 7 août 1958