Vasantha Yogananthan

Photographer

Série Piémanson
Série Piémanson

Guest of the Planche(s) Contact Festival in 2017

Vasantha Yogananthan, 32-year-old self-taught photographer, belongs to a young generation of photographers that love blurring the lines between reality and fiction. Though capturing subjects with a strong social dimension, his images have nothing to do with traditional documentaries.
In Deauville, Vasantha Yogananthan encounters people experiencing the beach for one day, renting sea cabins. He makes a series of portraits with a large-format camera, giving priority to long-term exposure and scenery. His use of colours – almost neutral pastel colours - provides unexpected gentleness to subjects with a remarkable social or symbolic value.
Born in 1985, Vasantha Yogananthan is a photographer and self-taught publisher of Franco-Tamil origin, living and working in Paris. In 2014, Vasantha Yogananthan cofounded a publishing house called Chose Commune and published Piémanson, the result of a long-term work made between 2010 and 2013, awarded with the Bourse du Talent Paysage. This work, appreciated by the critics, was nominated for the Prix Nadar 2014 and the Prix du livre d’auteur of the Rencontres d’Arles 2015. In 2015, Vasantha Yogananthan was the laureate of the IdeasTap/Magnum Photos Award for his project titled A Myth of Two Souls about the Ramayana in India. Through this major project that led to the publication of 7 works (2013-2019), he crossed documentary photography and ventured to fiction. Vasantha Yogananthan received the Prix Levallois (2016) and the ICP Infinity Award Emerging Photographer of the Year (2017).

Vasantha Yogananthan

Photographe

Série Piémanson
Série Piémanson

Invité au festival Planche(s) Contact en 2017

Photographe autodidacte de 32 ans, Vasantha Yogananthan appartient à cette jeune génération de photographe qui aime brouiller les lignes entre réel et fiction. Alors qu’il s’empare de sujets à forte dimension sociale, ses images restent à distance du documentaire traditionnel.
A Deauville, Vasantha Yogananthan part à la rencontre des familles qui habitent la plage le temps d’un été, dans les cabines du bord mer. Il réalisera une série de portraits à la chambre, privilégiant le temps long et la mise en scène. Son usage de la couleur, aux tons pastels presque neutres, donne une douceur inattendue à des sujets dont la teneur sociale ou symbolique est d’une grande force.
Né en 1985, Vasantha Yogananthan est un photographe et éditeur autodidacte, d’origine franco-tamoule, qui vit et travaille à Paris. En 2014, Vasantha Yogananthan co-fonde la maison d’édition Chose Commune et publie Piémanson, fruit d’un travail au long cours réalisé entre 2010 et 2013 récompensé par la Bourse du Talent Paysage. Ce travail, salué par la critique est nominé au Prix Nadar 2014 et au Prix du livre d’auteur des Rencontres d’Arles 2015. En 2015, Vasantha Yogananthan est lauréat du IdeasTap/Magnum Photos Award pour son projet A Myth of Two Souls sur la prégnance du Ramayana en Inde. Dans ce projet d’envergure centré autour de la publication de 7 ouvrages (2013-2019), il dépasse le cadre de la photographie documentaire pour s’aventurer vers la fiction. Vasantha Yogananthan a reçu le Prix Levallois (2016) et un ICP Infinity Award Emerging Photographer of the Year (2017).